Alec Baldwin Is “So Done” Playing Trump on ‘SNL’: “Convince Lorne to Replace Me”

Alec Baldwin is hanging up his wig. In a new interview with USA Today, the actor revealed that he’s “so done” impersonating President Trump on Saturday Night Live, as he simply doesn’t have time to continue doing the bit. Baldwin told USA Today’s Patrick Ryan that he’s aware that his impression is pretty bad, and he said that there are plenty of people out there, including The President Show‘s Anthony Atamanuik, who could “replace” him on SNL. “I can’t imagine I would do it again,” said Baldwin, effectively closing the book on his Trump impression — for now.

When asked who he would “like to see play Trump on Saturday Night Live after” he retires the impression, Baldwin was clear that that time has already come. “I don’t know. Darrell Hammond did it and is a far better impressionist than I’ll ever be,” he told the paper.  “When Anthony Atamanuik [started impersonating Trump on Comedy Central’s The President Show], all these people were attacking me, saying, ‘Oh, your impression sucks and you suck. Please go away.'” He said that he agreed with the criticism, and he often thought to himself, “I really don’t have a lot invested in my Trump impersonation, so please find someone and convince Lorne [Michaels] to replace me.”

“I’m completely down with that,” said Baldwin about being replaced. He added that the job is Atamanuik’s for the taking, as he’s “done that.” Continued Baldwin, “When Chris Kelly and Sarah Schneider wrote [Trump sketches in 2016 and 2017], that was new, it was fresh and the ratings were good. But I feel like I’m done with that now. I’m so done with that.”

Baldwin went on to say that he doesn’t believe he’ll return to Saturday Night Live Season 45 in the fall. “I can’t imagine I would do it again. I just can’t,” he said. “They should find somebody who wants to do it.” He added that while he’s “had a lot of fun” on SNL, it’s time to spend some quality time with his family and one-year-old son. “SNL just crushes my weekends, and now weekends are going to become much more precious to me because that’s time with my kids,” said Baldwin.

Read Baldwin’s entire interview with USA Today’s Patrick Ryan here.

Where to stream Saturday Night Live