Queue And A

Hannah Ferrier Once Lost 18 Pounds During A Charter Season of ‘Below Deck Med’ — Just From Doing Her Job

Well, Season 4 of Below Deck Mediterranean certainly hasn’t been boring so far, and we’re just three episodes deep. We caught up with the chief stew herself, Hannah Ferrier, while she was visiting New York City, and we had a whole lot to discuss. From getting her thoughts on her fellow yachties, new and old, to what it was like watching Chef Mila’s horrendously homophobic comments on TV, we can always count on Hannah to speak her mind. She even opened up about the amount of weight she loses each charter season, just from running up and down those damn stairs.

Here, Hannah tells us what it was like to finally get a break this year, why she’s taking on more of a “mother hen” role with the crew, and the only other person she allowed to have some of that magnum of Whispering Angel.

Decider: You get two good stews and then you get a shit chef. What was your reaction to actually having good stews?

Hannah Ferrier: Well I think it was kind of ironic because I found out that they were good around the same time I was finding out Mila was shit. It’s definitely one of those you can’t have it all [reminders], so.

How did you realize the two girls were going to be great?

The thing that I really liked about Aesha from the start is that she was like, I understand the hierarchy, I understand our jobs are different, you have worked your way to where you are. I guess my issue the past two seasons with the girls is that they don’t really understand that our jobs are just different. I don’t do cabins as much as they do cabins because I’m doing provisioning and making sure the whole boat runs. Because it’s not just the guests, it’s also the crew, if all the systems are in place, etc., it just falls on me. Aesha really understood the hierarchy, she was a hard worker.

When I did cabin checks with Anastasia, I’m used to having at least 10-15 things wrong with the cabins and I think there were two and that was on day one. It’s frustrating for me because I just don’t understand it. I literally give you a piece of paper that says what to do when you’re turning down a cabin and what to do when you’re turning up. If you’ve only done half of that, I just can’t understand how you can’t follow basic instructions. And I think sometimes that can come off really patronizing from my side because it’s a cabin and there’s stuff to do in it, how is this hard? Then obviously the girls can feel when that’s coming off from me so that’s definitely something I’m working on.

Anastasia states that she needs a lot of validation – how are you able to manage that?

I’m actually quite good at reading people and if its things like that, if it’s just me going, “Oh, the cabins were fantastic tonight,” I can help them with that. What I don’t like is having to hold your hand through everything. If you want me to just praise you at the end, I can do that. I just don’t want to be there the whole time you’re getting there.

Did you try the cake Anastasia made and was it as good as the guests were saying it was?

It’s a vanilla cake with white frosting on it. To me I was like, okay we can all just calm down.

Why was everyone crying after that first charter when the guests were leaving?

Honestly, I think if it was anyone that was there last year it was probably tears of happiness after those fucking bitches we had last year. They were awful. They were probably the worst charter guests ever.

When you got word about what happened in the other car with Mila and then you saw it on TV, what was your reaction? Was it worse than you imagined? 

It was worse than I thought because it wasn’t obviously relayed word for word. It’s just so disappointing that that is still happening in today’s day and age. We have so much information, there’s no excuse anymore. Especially that she didn’t come directly from Serbia or Russia, you came from Monaco, you should be able to educate yourself.

Does someone tell Captain Sandy?

It gets to her eventually. I escalate things when it’s directly affecting the guests. The fact that she can’t cook is affecting the guests. The fact that she’s a homophobe is not directly affecting the guests. Things will evolve.

What were you initially thinking about a new chef after working with Adam for two seasons? 

I was actually really scared because what I thought would happen was that she would be an amazing Russian Cordon Bleu chef, very fiery temper, and so service would always be really difficult and she’d be complaining if the fork was a centimeter in the wrong direction and stuff. It turns out she couldn’t cook and there was nothing to be scared of.

Your friendship with Joao is nice this time around, but will we see Jezabob?

No, I don’t think we do. I actually laughed in Episode 2 when he was going on about Brooke. I was like, I so don’t have relationships so I’m like, “Onwards and upwards, move on, don’t talk to me about these relationship things!”

It’s one of those things that’s like, even in normal relationships once you start fighting it builds and builds and builds. It’s the same on boats, we clashed the first night and then the second night and it builds into something where we were just clashing all the time. And most of the time it was like, what the fuck are we even clashing about? I’m sad that my earring nearly fell off the thing, just shut the fuck up, there’s really no need for us to be having an argument about this.

Colin said the reason he gets along with you is basically that he knows his place on the boat and does his work. 

I wish all men were like that. “I really get along with Hannah because I know my place.” Life would be a lot simpler! I just think he’s just not a hard person to get along with. You’re weird if you don’t get on with Colin. You’re probably more normal if you don’t get along with me. But if you can’t get on with Colin, there’s probably something severely wrong with you.

He also explained that you’re more relaxed this season because you finally had time to sit down and eat.

Yeah, and people didn’t realize that I never eat until I ate and then they’re like, oh, wait a sec, we never see her eat. Season 1 I lost 18 lbs., Season 2 was 12 lbs, Season 3 was about 16 lbs., and this last season I lost about 8 or 9 lbs., but nothing crazy. I lose a lot of weight when I’m filming.

The first few seasons as well I felt really uncomfortable eating on camera. Then you’re just running 18 hours a day up and down. People are like, ‘How do you stay fit on the boat?’ I’m like, have you watched the fucking show? Are we watching the same thing? Because all I do all day is run up and down stairs. Like, all day. So yeah, I work out enough.

View this post on Instagram

When your co-worker says something totally unexpected.

A post shared by Decider.com (@deciderdotcom) on

Even when you told the stews that breaks aren’t happening, no one threw a fit about it. It seems like the team has really jelled.

I liked it this season as well because there are situations where things like that happen. Anastasia had to go into the galley so there’s only two of us so we can’t have breaks. When I’m with the girls, I always forego my break before them and these girls this season would actually see that and appreciate it. It’s incredibly frustrating when you do things like that and then you’ve got your second stew turning around going, “You don’t work as hard as me.” It’s like, hang on. I’ve always given you girls breaks before me. I usually have my break last because that’s the one that always gets cut off. The first one is around lunchtime, the second one is mid-afternoon, and then it’s the evening one where we have to set up for a theme party or dancers are coming so I automatically don’t have a break. Or I’m in my bunk and I’m messaging with our provisioners and things like that, so it’s not really a break. But the girls this year were very much like, I think it was Aesha, how about we all have an hour less and you get a break as well, and I was like, oh, wow, thanks!

You ordered the magnum of Whispering Angel at dinner, which is an excellent choice. Was that just for you or did you share?

I shared it with one other, Aesha. People think how I talk about Aesha sometimes, I’m like, “Oh my god, she’s the dirtiest girl you’ve ever met.” And they’re like, “Oh, it seemed like you get along,” and I say, “Oh no, I love her! I’ve just never heard such filth come out of anyone’s mouth let alone a 30-year-old woman.”

We saw on Instagram she left all her underwear behind by the time she met you in Los Angeles over the weekend, did that get resolved?

No, she’s still in LA probably hopping around with no underwear on. She came and stayed with me that night and left her whole underwear drawer back in the Hamptons.

We would always laugh because I’d pick up her underwear off the floor and ask, “Aesha what is this?” and it would have three holes in it. I replace my underwear every 6-12 months and she’s like, “That’s seven years old.” It’s from Target! Get $25 dollars and go buy another five pack, come on.

Did you learn any science facts from her? 

No. Apparently I was the one she never told any of these fun facts to.

View this post on Instagram

Hi guys!! I hope you are all well!! So a few have you have noticed a bit of a difference in my appearance lately and apart from a few pounds the difference is coming from the inside out. After many, many years I have officially quit smoking! Three months today!! It was a long time coming but I always believe you need to do these things for yourself when you are ready if you want to succeed! Thanks to the gorgeous girls at @akalikoskinclinics who have been helping me with getting the toxins out of my body and looking after my skin and also my gorgeous hairdresser @sydneyhair_demarco for making me look super cute in this pic! If you are interested in how I did it I actually got hypnotised! It’s amazing and it worked for me. 💗💗💗

A post shared by Hannah Ferrier (@hannahferrier234) on

How’s the no smoking going and how are you feeling?

Good! Four months. Really good, actually. Especially because I lived in France for so long and when you’re in that environment you don’t realize how heavy a smoker you are in normal life because everyone just chain smokes in France. Then when you go to Australia and you have a cigarette in the morning people are like, ugh! They have a few at night with a cocktail or something whereas when you’re a proper smoker in Australia you really notice it. I went from 20 a day to nothing and I smoked for 17 years. Hypnotherapy! One session.

Especially if you want to have a family eventually. Do you know the one thing that would scare me? I started smoking when I was so young, so if something happens and I get sick and I have to tell my parents. If it’s something you can’t help then it’s like, okay support me, help me. If it was something smoking-related, I’d be like I’m so sorry I’m such a dickhead I did this to myself. And that freaked me out, so it’s a good motivator. Everyone’s like, “So why’d you quit?” and I’m like, “I don’t want to die.”

Dr. Jennifer Berman is back on the boat and she brought a whole bunch of sex toys with her. Did you get any?

No, I really didn’t want any. I’ll pay my $69.99, I don’t want a vibrator on TV, thanks.

Aesha seemed to want one. In fact, there were two separate times this episode where her comments seemed to make Sandy blush and leave the room.

Yeah, I think it was a bit much for Sandy. It was actually a bit much for Colin as well. He would freak out a little bit. But I guess because I’ve been in yachting for so long everything to me is like, whatever. Sandy was just very taken aback. Aesha is a lot. She’s one of those people when you meet her she’s at a 10 and you think she’s gonna escalate but there’s nowhere to go so she doesn’t. Thank god she doesn’t get any higher.

Travis said all the right things in the car that night, and you two went off to have a cigarette at the dinner. Were there already signs of a friendship brewing there? 

You get along with everyone at the start but you join the boat on a Wednesday and the first charter is Thursday. You don’t have a whole heap of time to sit around. The first night out is really the first time we socialize. You saw on the bow of the boat on the first day before charter we had one beer. But then we pick up charter in 8 hours so I have 6.5 to sleep. The first night out is really the first time you can properly socialize with people.

When there’s a situation like that, I know this sounds awful but it’s kind of good for the rest of the crew. It’s like when you distract a lion with a chunk of meat so that everyone else can run past. Mila was the chunk of meat but we all came together because especially something like that, it’s not like her laugh’s annoying. No, when you’re blatantly homophobic we can all hate you and feel fine about it.

I think we’ve talked about everyone but Jack, do you get along with him?

We get along, yeah. I like people like Colin who can be like, ‘Do you need any help?’ With Jack, you just have to go, ‘Hey, here’s this, do it.’ [In Jack’s accent] ‘Aye, but I don’t want to,’ ‘I don’t give a fuck if you want to or not, do it, I’m your superior.’ And then he’d just do it. You just have to boss him around.

Anything else we can expect to see from you this season?

There’s a lot going on. I feel like a few of the other seasons I was in the middle with everything going on, whereas I was a little more of a mother hen this year. I think I’m organically starting to shift away from getting super wasted on nights out. I’m more like, I want to be good for work tomorrow, I’ve got these responsibilities. It’s not so much young party hard Hannah, it’s more like okay, let’s keep Sandy happy, keep the guests happy, make sure you stay in a really healthy place mentally. I saw last year that alcohol doesn’t help anxiety, anxiety doesn’t help being with guests, especially with cameras in your face. This year it’s a healthier Hannah.

Below Deck Mediterranean airs Monday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream Below Deck Mediterranean