Bethenny Frankel Fires Back After Sunny Hostin Diss: “She’s Been Drinking or Taking Some Drugs”

As The View‘s battle between Meghan McCain and Joy Behar rages on, co-host Sunny Hostin has reignited an old feud of her own. Last week, during a segment about the Real Housewives of New York City, Hostin mentioned that she and RHONY star Bethenny Frankel once got into it after Frankel “yelled” at her child on the beach. Hostin’s remarks quickly made it back to the Bravo star, who was asked about the alleged fight Thursday night on Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen. Frankel disputed Hostin’s account, saying that she “doesn’t know” the View host, and managed to throw in a little shade, as well. “I think she’s been drinking or taking some drugs,” she said, adding fuel to the reality TV fire.

Hostin brought up the alleged incident during a June 13 discussion about Frankel’s tense back-and-forth with Luann de Lesseps on RHONY. “I don’t know Bethenny, but I’ve seen her behave that way on the beach when she was yelling at my child,” said Hostin. Her co-hosts urged her to “spill the tea” on the incident — she actually did in 2016, when she explained that the “run-in” happened “in the Hamptons a couple summers ago” — and despite a producer “telling [her] not to talk about it,” she forged ahead. “I’m just saying, I’ve seen that kind of behavior when Bethenny yelled at my child on the beach,” said Hostin, now fully in pot-stirring mode.

“It was in the middle of the day, and my child was about seven playing with other children at about 2 o’clock in the afternoon,” explained Hostin last week. “And she said that her child was napping inside with the window open, and that our children were being too loud on the beach.” She added that after Frankel “yelled at [her] child” to quiet down, the two exchanged words. “I went out there and stood in front of my child. And I yelled at her and told her that adults speak to adults,” Hostin recalled, adding, “And she knows I’m telling the truth.”

Frankel doesn’t seem to think so. “What’s going on with you and Sunny from The View?” WWHL host Andy Cohen asked Thursday night (check out the clip above). “She said that you yelled at her kid on the beach.” The RHONY star denied that the interaction ever took place. “I don’t know,” said Frankel. “I think she’s been drinking or taking some drugs. I don’t know her.” Cohen pressed on. “You don’t remember that?” he asked. “No, I don’t,” she replied.

Almost immediately, a fan tweeted a clip of Frankel’s WWHL appearance at Hostin. “Not surprising that a Reality TV personality who yells and bullies little kids on a beach lies,” Hostin wrote. “But I have witnesses.” She tagged a friend, Regina Jansen, who seemed to confirm Hostin’s account.

Frankel has yet to officially respond to Hostin’s comeback, but it does seem like she’s paying attention: later that night, Hostin posted a screenshot revealing that the RHONY star had blocked her on Twitter.

In an ideal world, The View would book Bethenny Frankel as a guest in the next few weeks. Viewers deserve to see this feud play out in real time.

Where to stream The Real Housewives of New York City