Bill Maher Is Tired Of Talking About Trump’s “Mushroom Penis”

After 500 episodes of Real Time, Bill Maher is finally tired of talking about Donald Trump. In a new interview with Variety ahead of Real Time‘s 500th episode, which airs tonight, Friday, June 21 on HBO, Maher revealed that the thought of talking about Trump and his “mushroom penis” for another four years gives him severe “anxiety,” as he feels he’s “exhausted” the bit. Despite the fact that the president is “fat,” “has terrible hair,” and is “racist,” “corrupt,” and “stupid,” Maher feels burnt out on the Trump beat. “You can only make so many jokes, and I feel like I’ve already made them,” he told Variety’s Michael Schneider. “I don’t want to write another four years of bad hair jokes.”

As he reflected on his 16 years of Real Time, Maher spoke candidly about how Trump has transformed his show — and how he hopes the president is voted out in 2020. Maher noted that he “can’t watch” the Trump show all the time or he’ll “go crazy,” but at the same time, “you don’t want to ignore it because that would mean you’re a bad citizen.” He continued, “All I know is if he wins a second term, I don’t know what I’m going to do.”

Maher went on to elaborate on the various reasons why a second Trump term would “depress” him so much. “You can only make so many jokes, and I feel like I’ve already made them. I don’t want to write another four years of bad hair jokes.” Yes, “there are so many things about Trump,” but the Real Time host feels like his team has “exhausted all of them.”

“Trump has everything. He’s fat, and he has a mushroom penis, he has terrible hair, he’s a racist, he’s corrupt, he’s stupid, and he’s horny. He’s everything,” continued Maher.  “And yet, I still feel like we’ve exhausted it because we were making jokes about him before he was president.” He noted that he was even making “jokes about Donald Trump being president in the ’90s” — a truly cringeworthy thought.

“I feel exhausted by this man and by working so hard every week to try to find some new angle,” he told Variety. “The prospect of another four years of having to do it looms over me like the sword of Damocles. I cannot tell you how much anxiety that causes me.”

Real Time with Bill Maher airs its 500th episode tonight, Friday, June 21, at 10/9c on HBO. For more on the anniversary celebration, read Maher’s interview with Variety.

Watch Real Time with Bill Maher on HBO