‘Southern Charm’ Exclusive: Meet Shep’s New Dog, Little Craig!

Shep’s a dad! Well, let’s not get ahead of ourselves: a dog dad! As we saw on the latest episode of Southern Charm, Shep Rose prepared for his new little guy the way anyone would: by buying a taco leash.

Just three days before he brought the little guy home, Shep explained that he named his new pup the “human name” Craig as both “An homage and sort of a jab at [human] Craig, because I already own one Craig, and so now I can own two.”

“It seems like Craig the puppy might just be like Craig the human. Craig sleeps a lot, he gets excited easily,” Shep laughed. After he stocked up on a purple doggie bed, banana collar, treats, toys, poop bags and more, to the tune of $477.53, he joked, “Now two Craigs cost me money.”

Decider not only got exclusive details about Little Craig — we got to meet him! And the French Bulldog is just as cute in real life as he is on TV. “It’s been cool,” Shep told us about the experience. “Having a dog makes humans better humans to a certain degree, I think.”

“It’s definitely a level of responsibility, there’s no getting around it,” he admitted. “I can’t necessarily disappear for hours on end which is fine, being tied to [home] is a good thing. I’ve been to every party you could ever imagine everywhere and I’ve had a hell of a time and I want to continue to have fun, but it’s cool having him.” Not that Shep doesn’t have a little bit of help with the doggie, too. “The whole community has rallied around Craig,” he said. “It does take a village, apparently. My friend Tony, he’s been a big help, it’s like both of ours honestly, we’re co-parents. My two dads!” Shep laughed.

Southern Charm's Cameran Eubanks and Shep Rose with his new puppy, Craig.
PHOTO: PaulCheney.com

And just like his dad, Little Craig is very popular at many Charleston establishments. “All these bartenders on the island beg me to look after him. I can and I do bring him to bars. I wish it was a little more liberal about going inside, I have to sit on the outside patio.”

But that doesn’t stop Craig from eating well. “He loves human food,” Shep told us. “I know I shouldn’t give it to him but dammit I’m doing it anyway.”

While we only got a glimpse of a cell phone video of Little Craig so far on the show, there’s much more to come. Shep revealed that he drove to rural South Carolina with Cameran to pick up the puppy, entertaining themselves with funny conversation the whole way there and back. And as the Season 6 trailer teased, Shep even did a photoshoot with his dog, which we’ll see in an upcoming episode.

When we asked what inspired this new buddy, Shep said just one word: Instagram. “You see everybody [posting their dogs] and you’re like, yeah, I could handle this. There are dogs everywhere and it looks nice and my family had a dog. I always said I’m not gonna get a dog unless I have a family and a backyard and a regimented schedule, but let’s face it, I don’t think I’m ever gonna have any of those things. Maybe the kids and the backyard, but not the regimented thing.”

Of course, Southern Charm won’t be the only place where you’ll be seeing Craig’s adorable face. The brilliant idea of putting him on a pillow has of course been floated by Patricia Altschul, and Shep is also working with adult Craig to make a line of doggie chew toys. The possibilities, just like Little Craig’s cuteness, are endless.

Where to stream Southern Charm