Queue And A

‘Below Deck Mediterranean’: Aesha Previews Her Upcoming Date With Jack: “It’s Sickly Cute”

“I’m so excited I barely slept last night,” Below Deck Mediterranean‘s Aesha Scott confessed when we sat down at the Bravo offices in New York City this morning. And she’s got a good reason to be excited: after a morning of interviews, she was hoping to hit a pool for a little bit of R&R before her appearance on Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen tonight, where she’ll sit next to the chief stew of Below Deck, Kate Chastain. “I’m so glad because last time I was in New York, we met up for dinner and we just clicked instantly,” Scott said.

We had much to discuss with the breakout star of the Bravo series, including Joao shaming her twerking (and then his subsequent, and first of many, apologies), where that graphic penis drawing in her cabin came from, and what we can expect from her adorable upcoming date with deckhand Jack.

DECIDER: So a lot of stuff happened in this episode. I was a little bit surprised that – and maybe we’ll credit this to Jezabob – but that Joao was so offended by your twerking. It was good twerking! Were you surprised too?

Aesha Scott: I know! Thank you. Oh, no, no. It started a few days before that. I was obviously the only eligible bachelorette really on the show, as if Hannah’s going to have anything to do with him. I’m not trying to sound egotistical at all, but it literally was as soon as he realized I was not interested at all and was flirting with Jack, then that’s when he kind of turned on me and started being a real bully. A few days before that, we were sitting in the crew mess and he was like, “You claim to have a double science degree, but I haven’t heard one smart thing come out of your mouth.” And that’s when it all started. And I was just like, “Excuse me?” I don’t have to prove my intelligence to you. I know I’m smart.

Then I could just sense when I was around him from then on, everything I did he was just like, you know when you can just really feel this judgemental aura? So that happened, and that’s why I was like “Fuck you!” because I put up with it and put up with it and put up with it and then he did that and I was like, “Ahh!”

We’re not in the ’50s anymore. You know? You don’t put women in boxes anymore. And also, what kind of girl goes to the club and doesn’t twerk? That’s what the club is for. It’s like the one place in life where it’s so acceptable to do that.

But you did get an apology from him, which I thought was kind of a big deal. Did you?

Oh, it’s not the first time. Yeah, it would have been nice that he apologized if that was the last time. I think he has to apologize because he knows that it’s not going to be the last time.

So he’s just smoothing things over until the next time?

Yeah. But it was good of him to apologize. I’ll give him that.

View this post on Instagram

When it’s FINALLY Friday! #tgif

A post shared by Decider.com (@deciderdotcom) on

What was your first impression of new third stew, June?

I thought June was such a sweetheart. She was really lovely. I just thought she was that classic all-American sweetheart, like the girl next door, kind of thing. Just a real sweetie.

Did it ever change for you? Or did you continue to get along?

Yeah, I caught up with her just the other week because she’s just an absolute sweetheart. She is very hard to read. She does have a lot of walls up. I think it’s quite hard for people to really get to know who she is, but I think because I shared a cabin with her I got to see more of her and I was like, oh she’s just like this harmless, sweet thing.

Aesha's bunk artwork on Below Deck Mediterranean
Bravo

Speaking of your cabin, can we talk about the art on the wall?

I didn’t draw that penis! Travis drew that penis and gave it to me. Hence why I’ve got pictures of me and Travis around it. I was like, “That’s a really nicely drawn penis! It’s going on the wall!”

That makes so much sense. And I love the way that Jack asked you on a date.

I know! How cute was that? Rewatching it, I was like, “Aww.” Very cute. And you can’t really see that he was so nervous. He was sweating and like, “Hah, hah.”

We don’t see that too much anymore. It’s like swiping or texting. So to ask somebody in person, it was really nice.

That’s the thing, I feel like these days it’s just slide into your DMs or meet at the bar and hookup. It’s not very often that someone actually requests time with you and is like, “I would like to ask you on a date.” So, yeah, that was really nice that someone had actually bothered to do that.

And we’ll get to see this date coming up, right?

Yes. Yes, you will. You won’t want to miss it. It’s very cute, very cute. You’ll be watching it and being like, should I cringe? It’s sickly cute. 

We’ve seen previously that he has a little bit of trouble motivating, are you able to motivate him at all?

Yeah, you just gotta put down the iron fist. I just think because we maintain such a good friendship and I really respected him, if I was ever like, “Tidy this up!” He’s just like, “Okay.”

But I think with Joao, because he didn’t show Jack respect first, then he can be a bit of a little kid in that way and he’s going to put his back up and fight back. It’s just how you manage him.

What was your experience working for Hannah?

Oh, so good! Honestly, Hannah is like the most…I just think she’s the best person in the world anyway. We’re very good friends. But working for her…it was great. She was one of the best chief stews I’ve ever had. She respects you, asks you nicely. She knows what she’s doing. It’s no bullshit, but still has time for the cushy side, which I like, you know like the morning hugs.

What was your favorite thing that Anastasia cooked?

Ohh, I think definitely that unicorn cake. It was so yum. Too yum. Dangerous.

Something I’ve been wondering, the last time you were in New York you had a little bit of a mishap in the Hamptons and left your underwear there.

I still haven’t gotten my underwear back! I messaged my captain and I was like, “Can you please send me my undies?” And he was like, “I’ve never got a text like this from a stew before.” I was working there on a boat and [left], and then I just realized I had no undies. So annoying. So he had to box them up and send them. But then because I move around all the time I had to get them sent to one of the producer’s houses and so now she’s had my undies sitting in her house for like a month, like “Don’t let you husband sniff those!” Now Hannah is in LA and she’s going to get them from her and leave them at the desk of the hotel for me when I arrive. So it’s been quite the mission. I’ve had to buy a few pairs of interim undies.

One of my favorite things that you’ve said so far this season is that you would rather watch Gilmore Girls than S a D. What are some of your other favorite shows that you would rather watch than give a blowjob?

Yeah, so Gilmore Girls I’ve watched like every season. I just love it so much. I wish it didn’t end. But how annoying that, you know how they do A Year in the Life, the last season, she doesn’t even end up with anyone! Are you joking? What’s the point of bringing Jess back if she doesn’t end up with him? Anyway, I’m also a massive Gossip Girl fan, love Gossip Girl. And then probably a show that you guys wouldn’t know is Outrageous Fortune [available on Tubi]. It’s a New Zealand show. I’ve watched it like a million times. But Gossip Girl definitely.

Are you a Chuck Bass kind of girl?

Yeah, for sure. And I just love Leighton Meester. I think she’s so cool. She’s so hot.

Do you have time to watch other shows when you’re working or is it on your downtime?

No. I don’t watch anything really. I have in the past, but these days I don’t really have time. But I’ve got a real short attention span, so I watch ten minutes of something and then I change eight times and then I just turn it off.

Anything else that’s coming up this season that you’re excited for us to see?

There’s still some very nice plot twists coming and some very cool things going to happen. It’s a great season.

Below Deck Mediterranean airs Monday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream Below Deck Mediterranean