When Is ‘Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ Season 6 Coming to Netflix?

The internet is in the throes of Comic-Con mania and that means all eyes are on the superhero movies and TV shows that power the biggest fandoms around. That definitely includes Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., one of the longest running comic book shows currently on television. As the Marvel show that started Marvel Television’s small screen universe, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. has earned its status as an elder statesman of the superhero genre–and it’s getting the big deal treatment at San Diego Comic-Con with a big deal panel in legendary Hall H.

This marks the first time that Coulson’s crew has landed in San Diego’s biggest panel room, a room reserved for pop culture’s heaviest hitters. The cast, including Marvel legend Clark Gregg and Disney legend Ming-Na Wen, were all in attendance for the panel–not that you can actually livestream it. Boo to San Diego’s strict rules! But even though you can’t livestream the panel, you can still stream S.H.I.E.L.D. while you wait for all of the info dished out in San Diego to be echoed across Twitter. And you’re in luck, because you can stream Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. right now–although it’s a little complicated.

Is Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on Netflix?

Yes–at least for now. You can currently stream seasons 1-5 of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on Netflix, giving you 110 episodes of marvelous to binge right away. However, this isn’t every S.H.I.E.L.D. episode, as the currently-airing Season 6 is not on Netflix. Season 6 is, however, streaming somewhere else… at least partially.

Is Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on Hulu?

It is, but only the five most recent episodes are streamable on Hulu. Episodes of S.H.I.E.L.D. are added to Hulu the Saturday morning after they air on Friday night on ABC. Hulu only keeps the most recent five episodes, so you’ll have to figure out some other way to watch the first half of Season 6 if you’re looking to get caught up now. Tip: you can purchase episodes of Season 6 for a few dollars on Amazon’s Prime Video and Apple and other digital video storefronts.

MARVEL’S AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D. – ABC’s “Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.” stars Elizabeth Henstridge as Agent Jemma Simmons, and Iain De Caestecker as Agent Leo Fitz.
Photo: ABC/Matthias Clamer

So to sum all that up, you can stream Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. seasons 1-5 on Netflix, then purchase the first half of Season 6 digitally, and then binge the back half of Season 6 on Hulu. Wow, you have to be a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent just to follow that.

When will Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 6 be added to Netflix?

Seasons of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. are added to Netflix exactly 30 days after the season finale airs on ABC. The Season 6 finale is currently scheduled to air on August 2 on ABC, so that means that Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 6 should debut on Netflix on September 1, 2019.

There is, of course, the Disney+ question since ABC is owned by Disney. It’s possible that Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. will ultimately find a new streaming home on Disney+ or Hulu (which Disney also owns). However, new seasons of ABC shows are still being added to Netflix; the most recent season of Gray’s Anatomy was just added to Netflix last month. With that in mind, it seems likely that Season 6 of S.H.I.E.L.D. will be made available on Netflix on September 1.

Stream Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on Netflix

Stream Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on Hulu