Queue And A

Dorinda Medley Has A Theory Why The ‘RHONY’ Reunion Wasted No Time Heating Up

We couldn’t finish off this brilliant season of The Real Housewives of New York City without a quick catchup with Dorinda Medley, and so this week we did just that. Decider met her fresh off the latest installment of her SiriusXM Radio Andy show, which she told us was “Amazing. I love it.” It’s easy to see why: that day’s guest was her now-famous realtor, Laurie Cooper. “She’s made quite a splash on the show,” Dorinda said with her signature smile. “Her and Melinda,” she said, referring to her sister who was the talk of social media after she popped up on the show this year.

Other highlights we had to ask about were that AWKWARD Ramona ditch at the charity event, what her boyfriend John keeps at her new apartment, and what kind of decorating she does at her home over the summer, before the real festivities kick into high gear in the fall.

Decider: We last spoke briefly via phone when we were talking to Shep and you called to say hi. 

Dorinda Medley: Yes! He’s the best.

It was so funny you were getting the notifications about his car service that day. Is there another Bravolebrity you would want to know what they were doing for a day? 

Well, Shep I was very excited about seeing what he did. I think Shep is absolutely adorable, isn’t he? I see why all the girls want to date him. So I loved seeing Shep and probably, oh, Erika Jayne.

Oh yeah, for sure. And in other crossover news, we talked to Captain Sandy a couple of weeks ago, who you got to spend time with on the Bravo Pride Parade float. 

Of course, love Captain Sandy.

We asked her which Bravo cast she would want to charter a yacht and she said—

She said New York?

She did! But my question for you is, what would it take for you to get back on a boat with this group of women?

Well, you know what, I don’t think that’s the issue. I think we’d have to have a much better, nicer boat with a proper anchor.

Will you be doing any more of the aerobics classes soon?

We’re doing one August 10th in Asbury Park, NJ.

Once October gets here it will be a busy time for you when it comes to decorating your home in the Berkshires, but what do you do in between the holidays, anything for summertime? 

Once I pack everything up in January, it’s pretty quiet. The summer is all about my gardens and about doing that. I really don’t do much until…I’ve already started ordering more Halloween stuff because it just came out at Grandin Road Halloween Haven. It’s the most amazing thing you’ll ever see. So I start ordering now, start thinking about what I’m going to do.

Does your boyfriend John have a drawer at your new apartment?

John has a closet in the guest bedroom.

Does he keep a lot there?

It’s very little. John is someone that likes to transport his whole life with him everywhere he goes. It’s the most bizarre thing. Even in the Berkshires, he has a whole wardrobe up there. Like, I bring nothing when I go to the Berkshires. He always has a whole slew of stuff he wants to bring up. You know those people, my daughter is like that as well.

Do you have a drawer at his place?

No.

Social media was buzzing over the new picture of Bethenny and her boyfriend, what do you think of him?

He looks adorable. He’s a nice guy, too. He’s a really good, grounded guy. You know, sensible, good, grounded person. She seems happy, that’s all that matters.

I know the conversation about Ramona ditching you at the charity event is coming up in the reunion, but was there a bright side to that night, were you able to go off and make your own new friends? 

Oh, well it wasn’t like that. I was invited as a guest and I’ve gone to that event for many years. Usually, I go with John or my great friend Greg, so it’s a huge social event and I’m always at the best table because I’m friends [with the people involved]. And then all of a sudden I was put at this stragglers’ table where I knew no one. So it was so bizarre because it’s not like I’ve never been to the event. Then all of a sudden I was going as someone else’s guest and then kind of just dumped. So it was just a totally bizarre situation overall. The problem was the table was empty because it was a stragglers’ table. It was weird.

You and Sonja had a lot of fun together this season. 

Yeah, Sonja is renting her townhouse again. It’s available for rental, I found out.

I’ll have to save my pennies! What makes your friendship work so well? 

Well, she’s quirky and I’m quirky. We’ve both been through a lot. We both just decided at one point, it’s not worth it. It’s not worth it. We have more in common than we don’t.

The first part of the reunion seemed like it got heated faster than usual. Did it feel like that to you too?

I think people were ready to get…you know, we all held back throughout the season and we all try to understand and be sort of aware and sensitive, but it got to the point where it’s like, enough already. I think the reunion was the platform to just say, “Enough!” And I feel like we not only felt that way, but the audience felt that way.

Did you feel good by the end of it?

Yeah, I think we did.

The Real Housewives of New York City airs Thursday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream The Real Housewives of New York City