Kelly McGillis Talks ‘Top Gun: Maverick’ Slight: “I’m Old and I’m Fat, and I Look Age-Appropriate”

Original Top Gun love interest Kelly McGillis may not have been asked to appear in Top Gun: Maverick, but she’s not too upset about the slight. In a new audio clip released from McGillis’ interview with ET, the 62-year-old actress said that she does not think director Joseph Kosinski would “ever” ask her to star in the upcoming sequel, as she’s “old,” “fat,” and “look[s] age-appropriate.” While she’s aware of the appeal of Top Gun: Maverick, a slick revival with young stars (plus Tom Cruise), McGillis is perfectly content with her life. “I’d much rather feel absolutely secure in my skin and who and what I am at my age,” the actress said.

When asked if “anyone reach[ed] out to” her about reprising her role as Charlotte “Charlie” Blackwood in the Top Gun: Maverick sequel, McGillis was clear. “Oh my god, no. They did not, and nor do I think they would ever,” she said. “I’m old, and I’m fat, and I look age-appropriate for what my age is. And that is not what that whole scene is about.”

“But that, to me — I’d much rather feel absolutely secure in my skin and who and what I am at my age,” continued McGillis, “as opposed to placing a value on, you know, all that other stuff.”

In the upcoming sequel, Cruise’s new love interest is played by Jennifer Connelly. “I’m glad for her,” McGillis said, adding that she’s “so glad that [Connelly] got that opportunity.”

McGillis went on to say that, despite her major role in the original 1986 film, she’s not sure if she’ll see the sequel. “I’m not racing to the theater, and I’m not racing away from the theater to see it,” she told ET. “I mean, it’s just not — it’s not on my little list of things that I would like to get done.” She added that she has yet to be asked to attend any promotional events for Top Gun: Maverick, but if she is, she’ll have to figure out her schedule before committing. “I would have to assess where I am, what I’m doing, what’s going on … I can’t project what I would or wouldn’t do in the future. I have no idea because I don’t know where I’ll be.”

Listen to the audio of McGillis’ interview with ET hereTop Gun: Maverick hits theaters in June 2020.

Where to stream Top Gun