Tiffany Haddish Left Scientology Over Her Hatred of Bunkbeds

Where to Stream:

Tuca and Bertie

Powered by Reelgood

If there’s one person who can break Scientology, it’s Tiffany Haddish. After a panel for Kids Say the Darndest Things at the Television Critics Association’s 2019 summer tour, Haddish told a group of reporters about her very brief stint as part of the Church of Scientology.

“I took a few courses and they found out I was homeless. They were like ‘If you stay here, we’ll pay you $50 a month and you can have a roof over your head and you can help us in Englewood and South Central area’ because I guess they didn’t have any other people like me in their organization,” Haddish said. “I said ‘OK.’ I signed the contract. The contract was like a billion years or something like that, which I thought was crazy but I was like whatever I need a place to stay.”

Haddish elaborated more about joining the organization in her book The Last Black Unicorn. “They took me to where we sleep which is called the barracks. And it was bunkbeds, and I don’t do bunkbeds,” Haddish said. “I threw a fit, and they tore my contract up and threw me out. Because no matter how many times they put me on that meter, I was still mad about the bunkbeds.”

The comedian also elaborated on Tuca & Bertie‘s possible future, at TCA. Created by Lisa Hanawalt, the Netflix original series follows two anthropomorphic bird women best friends in their 30s. Haddish voices the outgoing Tuca and Ali Wong voices the introverted Bertie. The very silly series is a brilliant reflection of complicated friendships and surviving sexual assault. After a widely praised first season the series was canceled by Netflix.

According to Haddish, she doesn’t think there are any contracts preventing the show from going to another platform or network. “I talk about it all the time,” Haddish said. “I don’t know what’s going to happen to it. I talked to the creator and we’re definitely going to make it go somewhere. It’s going to. I love Tuca & Bertie; It’s going to end up somewhere. I’m confident in all things that I do.”

Watch Tuca & Bertie on Netflix