Queue And A

Shannon Storms Beador Reveals The “Rare” Group Texts That Happened During This Season of ‘RHOC’

Fun Shannon is in the building, and she’s ready to dance on the tables! Shannon Storms Beador is entering the new season of The Real Housewives of Orange County with a new attitude, a hot bod, and a hot boyfriend — so it’s no wonder why she stopped by the Decider offices this week with a huge smile on her face. After being dealt a rough season (or two), she’s ready to walk back into The Quiet Woman with her head held high and a drink in her hand.

Shanon filled us in on where her friendships stand this season, including with the new Housewife Braunwyn, and OC staple Vicki Gunvalson. Plus, the mom of three taked about her daughters’ music career, how she worked on herself from the inside, and the workout she actually doesn’t dread. Oh, and we were sure to get an update on the Tres Amigas — and what it’s like to actually have all the RHOC women on a group text.

DECIDER: I love a thriving Shannon, and it seems like we are really getting a thriving Shannon this season.

Shannon Beador: I hope so. I mean, I think so. But every year I think, it’s gotta be better than last year. Because last year was just really bad. I had no idea that that’s how it was going to go. But I do know this year I have a lot of fun. I do get involved in some drama, but I think I’ve reached a point where I realized that there are other things that are more important so I just try to resolve it and move on.

Does it work?

Kind of. The reactivity is lower.

It feels like, for some people, there’s a lot of love going around. Was it fun to have some of your friends around you also be in really good moods and have really exciting things going on?

Absolutely. We have a few events where actually every single person gets along. Who would have thought? There was a round of texts that went on afterwards going, ‘Wow, I really had fun yesterday,’ or that kind of thing. Group texts with every single cast member on it? That’s rare.

Wow. Have you ever written to a group text that had the person on it that you were talking about?

All the time. It’s happened to the best of us. Or when you’re texting about somebody else, but you send it to them instead.

Let’s talk a little bit about your boyfriend, John. Are we going to see him this season?

No, we met after filming ended.

Well, he seems to be approved by the ladies? 

Yes. He’s met Tamra, Vicki, and Braunwyn [Windham-Burke], the new girl this season. So, yes, they all like him a lot. Major thumbs up. It’s always nice when somebody else that’s close to you realizes that someone has the qualities that you’re talking about.

Tell us about Braunwyn, I’m excited to meet her.

I looked back and she’s the first new girl that I’ve liked in six years. Doesn’t say much for me, but there’s just something about her. We had an instant connection. She’s very authentic and she’s completely honest. She’ll say whatever comes to her mind and I appreciate that because I’m kind of the same way. For good or for bad, because there will be things this season that she’s going to say, “Why was I so honest?” but it makes her real.

Did having that stamp of approval from Kelly help too?

I like to form my own opinions. But Kelly had met her just a little bit before.

Do you like her husband?

He’s great. Actually, we had a barbecue recently, and that’s what’s so nice is when you’re actually spending time with people off-camera when you’re not filming you know that you have a true friendship. But we had a barbecue and they came and it was his birthday. So we had a cake for him and everything. Yeah, he’s great.

Is there a new Tres Amigas in town?

No! It’s called a teaser trailer. It’s a teaser! No one can replace Vicki. The Tres Amigas are here to stay.

Did it feel like you saw Vicki any less this season?

Vicki is an integral part of the show and I filmed with her all season. There were a couple of times where she wasn’t there, but that’s normal. You’re not with everybody all the time. That being said, our all-cast trip, I had a villa with Tamra and Vicki. It was the three of us. So there’s a lot of Tres Amigas stuff going on this season. And really funny stuff from what I recall. You never know what you’re going to see, but it was a lot of fun.

And how are your friendships with Emily and Gina this season?

Gina and I have bonded a bit based on what she’s going through in her life because while the facts are different, the basic premise is the same that we were involved in marriages that were falling apart and wanted to keep our family intact, so how do you navigate through that. It’s been tough for her. I give her credit for hanging in there because it’s never easy to live through difficult times in the press.

Did you have any advice for her as far as having a challenging season goes?

Well, I mean, yeah, hello. I shouldn’t say this, but I’m going to. One year prior, I was having a really horrible year and she wasn’t helping it. She was saying certain things about me that were not true and weren’t kind. But, you know what, it is what it is and I’m sympathetic to what she’s going through right now, so I’m going to be there for her.

And everything good with Tamra?

Oh, I didn’t elaborate on Emily…

Oh, yes. Emily, of course.

There’s not much to say.

That says it all really, doesn’t it? It seems like she’s having a bit of a rough season this season as well.

Well, it’s kind of been rough since the beginning of it. I don’t know her well. I was just thinking about that. She’s been on the show for two years and I don’t even know her? It’s weird.

Do you feel like you tried to?

Eh. Just a little. I’m like, “Where is fun Emily?” Let’s be real.

Is this the most Fun Shannon this year?

Pretty much, I’d say. I joke about this, but there were a couple of times when we’d walk into a place and I’d go, “Is this table sturdy? Because I’m going to be dancing on it later.”

In the first episode, we see you working out with your daughters but you talk about why it matters to work on the inside as well. What were some of the things you did to work on the inside?

I think one of the best things that I did, but it was miserable, was after my separation I never left the house. I didn’t even go out to dinner. I think it was over maybe six or seven months. It was good for me, but it was horrible. But I feel as though when I came out of that, I emerged saying, okay I can handle this life on my own and I’m going to be okay. But it is so much about how you feel about yourself inside. I think as I started to shed some of the weight, I started to get some of that confidence back. You can focus on negative, or you can focus on positive. And I am so blessed with where my life has taken me right now. I’ve had some pitfalls along the way, but to be where I am today is just a total blessing.

What is a workout that you don’t dread?

I’m going to say walking, and the reason why I like walking is because once you get to a destination you have to walk back. It forces you to continue. Because if it was a treadmill I’d be off instantly.

Right. Unless you call an Uber.

Well, don’t put that idea in my head!

What do you do when you walk? Do you listen to music?

Rock and roll. Although someone [points to John] is a little bit country, so I’ve been listening to some of that music.

Have you learned who Yung Gravy is?

A rapper. Yes. And I just found that out. I liked Led Zeppelin growing up, and my mom would say, ugh we’re not going to listen to that and I’d go, oh my god that’s never going to happen to me. Totally happening to me. All this rap stuff, I want no part in it.

It’s crazy to see how grown-up your daughters are now.

It’s been such a blessing to have the show because I now have all these little clips of my kids growing up. I just found a picture and posted it on Instagram of me in my first season filming with the kids. That’s when Stella was wearing her boys’ clothes and rocker hats. It’s just crazy to where they’ve come. The twins are starting high school next year and Sophie is going to be a senior in high school. Yeah, teen hell.

Are they still doing their band?

No. They were kind of one and done after that, which I was really bummed about because I thought that song was really darling and I loved that they were doing it. But no, they are onto other things now.

Now they’re rappers.

They just enjoy the rappers. But they will not be rapping.

How much do you tell them about your dating life and when do you introduce them to someone?

You know, David moved on very quickly. He’s living with his girlfriend. He has for a while. So my kids actually wanted me to be happy and they want me to date. And so they’re okay with it. They’ve met John and they like him a lot and they see how happy I am, so it’s great.

We see that you return to The Quiet Woman restaurant in the first episode this season. How often do you go there?

Pretty much a lot. But it’s funny, after that whole filming escapade, I was just horrified. I was not in a good place. But I didn’t go there for a couple of months and I picked up the phone and I called the manager and went, “It’s Shannon. Am I allowed back?” And he goes, “Shannon, if we didn’t let people back in like you this bar would be dead.” I said, “Okay, good.”

You did more business for them than probably anyone.

And then I say, “Has business picked up?” And they’re like, “No, we’re just a really popular place.” So yeah, it’s a fun spot.

That was the first day [of this season] that I filmed that night at The Quiet Woman. I was a little tipsy. And of course they show the tail end of the night. Of course they do.

How’s the QVC stuff going?

It’s going well. Actually, I’m launching my own website probably end of September. That’s our target date. So I’m going to be offering a bunch of low-calorie meals and family-style too, because a lot of times, as a mom, you want to have something healthy. And they’re actually quite good, the meals. John just tested them last week

Anything else this season that you’re excited for people to see?

I’m excited for people to see a lighter side of me because it’s just been so horrible and I think I do have a lot of fun. But you never know what they’re going to pick to show.

I have to say that – I was just thinking about this – that there is so much that went on this season. You’ll film a dinner or a party or something for three or five hours and you’ll say, okay they’re going to use that three minutes that that happened. This season I walk out going, what are they going to cut? What are they going to cut? Because there’s so much going on with every single person on the cast, including Vicki, who’s integral.

And is Meghan back?

No, she came for my birthday. It was fun to see her though. She’s really fun.

Oh, that’s good. Have you been in touch with her lately?

No, I haven’t and I need to because I know what she’s going through is tough. But she’s handling it like a pro. I mean, she’s keeping her family together and I admire her for that. And I love Jim too. They’re a great couple. I got very close to both of them.

And you’re doing Watch What Happens Live with Jerry O’Connell?

Yes! He and Rebecca were at Andy Cohen’s baby shower, so I got to speak to them. They were tons of fun.

He’s talked about how important bonding over Bravo is to his marriage — how does it feel to you to hear that people are having great relationships because they like watching you?

It is interesting to hear so many men say, “My wife makes me watch it.” It’s like, okay, yeah. But we, the Tres Amigas, are going to be on his talk show next Tuesday, like, the second day. It’s going to be fun, all three of us together.

The Real Housewives of Orange County airs Tuesday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream The Real Housewives of Orange County