Dakota Johnson Finally Explains Her Missing Tooth Gap: “My Gap Closed by Itself”

Over the past few days, one issue has captivated our fickle news cycle: Dakota Johnson‘s tooth gap. This week, the actress shocked fans when she appeared at the premiere of her new film, The Peanut Butter Falcon, without a gap in her front teeth — until now, her signature look. Social media immediately began theorizing about Dakota Johnson’s teeth, and on Tuesday night, the star stopped by The Tonight Show to clear things up. Johnson explained that the entire situation is orthodontia-related: when she removed her “permanent retainer,” her teeth naturally shifted. “My gap closed by itself,” she said. “I’m really sad about it, too.”

Johnson may have been on The Tonight Show to promote her new film, but host Jimmy Fallon wasn’t interested in talking about that. “There have been some headlines about you the last couple days,” said Fallon at the beginning of the interview. “Your fans are upset because, apparently, everyone is brokenhearted that the gap in your teeth is not there any more.” Johnson laughed and said that this entire news story is ridiculous. “First of all, the fact that this is a news-worthy event in our world right now is pretty Chaka Khan to me,” said the Fifty Shades star.

“I had a permanent retainer since I was like 13,” she continued. “It was just glued to the back of my teeth. And I was having a lot of neck problems recently, so my orthodontist decided that it would be a good idea to take it off and see if my jaw sort of expanded.” Johnson explained that removing the retainer “helped” her neck, but it had one unintended side effect. “My gap closed by itself. I’m really sad about it, too,” she said, giving fans clarity once and for all.

After some weird teeth-touching (it’s very off putting on multiple levels), Johnson gave fans one final “important” reminder. “Hold on. This is really important,” she said, interrupting Fallon. “I’m sad about my gap tooth, too. So I’d really appreciate some privacy in this time of grieving.” As Laura Dern says in Big Little Lies, “Will somebody give a woman a MOMENT?”

Watch Dakota Johnson discuss her tooth gap in the clip above.

Where to stream The Tonight Show