‘Southern Charm’: Ashley Jacobs Issues Overdue Apology To Kathryn Dennis: “I Was Your Biggest Fan”

In an episode that is sure to get your eyes rolling, Ashley Jacobs returns yet again to Southern Charm to say the words we’ve all been waiting over a year to hear spill out of her mouth. That’s right, it’s chilly in hell today because she finally freakin’ apologized to Kathryn Dennis.

After spending last season criticizing her parenting and general life decisions with horrific and untrue statements, Ashley was on a mission to…redeem herself? Play nice on TV? Not seem like a total a-hole after all? Maybe all of the above, and she truly believed that apologizing to Kathryn at Eliza’s foxhunt party would make her wish come true. So even after calling her Pippi Longstocking when, hello, the look was based on Beyonce’s “Formation” look, Ashley finally gets her moment.

The two women step away from the party to chat while Kathryn provides her signature skeptical faces and Ashley lets the word vomit flow. “Thank you so much for even just being approachable,” Ashley begins. “I should’ve reached out to you a long time ago and I just want to say that what I said to you was none of my fucking business.”

And after a quick reminder of all the garbage she spewed in Kathryn’s direction she continued with her apology, saying, “Who am I to tell somebody how they should raise their kids, what kind of mother they are?”

“When do you feel like you realized that?” Kathryn asks her.

“When I went home to California to visit my family,” Ashley reveals. “They didn’t talk to me for a while, they were so disappointed in me.”

“You have to understand Kathryn, I really wanted you to know that I was not a threat to you,” she continues. “I was never trying to break up your family, I was really supportive of you and Thomas’ relationship. I was your biggest fan,” Ashley tells her former enemy.

“You literally said the opposite to me several times,” Kathryn replies. “I just don’t buy the fact that you’re trying to be nice to me right now.”

“Listen, we will never probably speak again after this,” Ashley says, and Kathryn follows it up with a quick, “I hope.”

And then Ashley actually does it. She really apologizes to Kathryn. “I owe you an apology. It was never my place to say or do what I did. I’m not asking for forgiveness, I just want some sort of peace, Kathryn.”

“I’ve been at peace,” Kathryn assures her. And while Ashley continues to talk about wanting peace and being able to wave at Kathryn, she replies, “Yeah I just want to feel safe and normal and stuff.” You know, like a basic human right.

“I just need for you to know that I’m deeply sorry and I’m sorry for hurting you,” Ashley tells her. “I wish I can go back, I wish I can take it back. Who was I to speak to you that way?” And get this: it sounds like she actually means it!

“I appreciate that, I really do,” Kathryn tells her. “That’s very nice of you, I appreciate you saying that and yeah, I’ll wish you the best too.” And with that, the two separate to report back to their own friends at the party what just went down, likely to never speak again. But for as nutty as Ashley can be, and this is still not the last of her we’ll see this season on the Bravo series, it’s impossible to ignore this slight sense of closure and satisfaction in finally hearing her say those words. Too bad Patricia Altschul can’t expect to hear the same from her at next week’s fancy finale party.

Southern Charm airs Wednesday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream Southern Charm