More From Decider

‘The Mandalorian’: 5 Key Moments You May Have Missed from the First Star Wars TV Trailer

If you’re like me and find trailers thrilling to watch at home, then you have no idea what you’re missing if you don’t watch one in a packed exhibition hall with thousands of other screaming fans. That was the scene I was in at D23 during the “I can’t believe they can announce this much stuffDisney+ Showcase when series creator Jon Favreau introduced the first-ever trailer for the upcoming live-action Star Wars series The Mandalorian.

The trailer is wild, a look into the wild west corner of the Star Wars galaxy. The series–which stars Pedro Pascal as the titular bounty hunter and also features Gina Carano, Carl Weathers, Giancarlo Esposito, and Werner Herzog–looks like it’s going to be next-level nuttiness in the best way. The fights, the weapons, the character design, the aliens, the effects–every single second is packed with stuff designed to make a room full of Star Wars devotees freak out. And freak out I did.

Now, having sat with the trailer for a bit (and after getting the chance to rewatch it in a quiet hotel room and not in a massive arena), there are five points that I can’t stop thinking about. This is why I’m excited for this show–and I know it’s why you are too!

1

The special effects!

mandalorian-1-special-effects
GIF: Disney+

During the Disney+ showcase, Lucasfilm president Kathleen Kennedy said that the quality of the TV shows will match the films–and this trailer makes me believe! From the gorgeous, 1977-style cinematography that gives every scene the perfect amount of grit to the shots of the Mandalorian’s ship zooming through space (accomplished with old school practical model effects, by the way!), to the scenes of lush and desolate alien worlds stretching out before us, this trailer delivers in every way possible. The Mandalorian is gonna be a visual feast.

2

The new faves!

mandalorian-2-new-fave
GIF: Disney+

I do not know who this winking Twi’lek is but I immediately want a Black Series action figure and for her to star in her own Disney+ series, launching in Fall 2020. This one shot conveys so much, from that lived-in production design to the depth of the lighting to the makeup effects. I want to live in this shot! And I reiterate: I need to know everything about this Twi’lek!

3

The vehicles!

mandalorian-3-ships
GIF: Disney+

The Mandalorian is gonna serve up all that classic Star Wars-y goodness that fans love (yes, there will be Jawas!!)–and who doesn’t love some classic vehicles? The trailer shows off way more than just the Mandalorian’s sweet ride. We also get a shot of a mystery character on a swoop/speeder bike and then–oh take my breath away, trailer!–you hear those iconic blaster sounds from an Imperial walker. It’s been almost 40 years since we first saw the AT-AT’s in Empire and the site of a big ol’ hunk of metal clomping it’s way through scrambling crowds still gives me goosebumps.

4

The Bounty Buddies!

mandalorian-4-buddy-bounty
GIF: Disney+

Pedro Pascal’s Mando isn’t the only bounty hunter we’re gonna see in the series. In addition to directing an episode, delightful madman Taika Waititi is also providing the voice for the murder droid IG-11. And now we know, thanks to the trailer, that these two are gonna be Bounty Buddies, which is like Bosom Buddies but only a little more murder-y. The shots of them together are absolutely fantastic, especially them laying waste to the opposition. But will they remain buddies or is this more of a frenemy scenario? One imagines bounty hunters only have friends that they know will double cross them.

5

This badass that makes me scream "Boba WHO?"!

mandalorian-5-badass
GIF: Disney+

Listen: I love Boba Fett. I had a Boba Fett cardboard cutout in my room throughout all of high school and college. But even I can admit that he did next to nothing in the original trilogy beyond looking badass. This first look at The Mandalorian delivers on that armor’s badass aura by showing us a full-blown hand-to-hand combat scene wherein Pascal’s warrior straight-up annihilates the competition. He even cuts one in half using one of those wacky Star Wars doors!! I think I have a new favorite Mandalorian…