Dave Chappelle Fires Back at Michael Jackson Accusers in Netflix Special: “I Don’t Believe These Motherf*ckers”

Dave Chappelle is stirring up controversy yet again. In his new Netflix special, Sticks & Stones, the legendary comedian tackles everything from Jussie Smollett to school shootings, but no bit is as surprising as his defense of Michael Jackson. Chappelle describes the HBO documentary Leaving Neverland, which details Jackson’s alleged child sexual abuse, as “fucking gross,” and he dismisses the claims made by accusers Wade Robson and James Safechuck. “I don’t believe these motherfuckers,” says the comedian in Sticks & Stones. “I do not believe them.”

At the beginning of the special, Chappelle ruminates on cancel culture, particularly as it relates to celebrities. “This is the worst time ever to be a celebrity. You’re gonna be finished. Everyone’s doomed,” he says, adding that “Michael Jackson has been dead for 10 years” and he’s had “two new cases” of sexual abuse levied against him. Chappelle then turns his attention to those two cases, which are presented in Dan Reed’s Leaving Neverland. “If you haven’t watched that documentary, then I’m begging you, don’t watch it. It’s fucking gross,” says the comic. “I felt like HBO was sticking baby dicks in my ears for four hours straight. Really nasty shit. I don’t want to know all these things. Turns out, Michael Jackson allegedly likes a long gander at the anus. He stares at people’s buttholes, that’s what they said. That’s how gross the documentary was.”

“I’m going to say something that I’m not allowed to say, but I’ve got to be real,” continues Chappelle. “I don’t believe these motherfuckers. I do not believe them.”

The crowd cheers eagerly, but the comedian doesn’t stop there. After joking that he’s “what’s known on the streets as a ‘victim blamer,’ Chappelle doubles down on his defense of Jackson. “I don’t think he did it. But you know what? Even if he did do it — you know what I mean?” he asks, shrugging. “I mean, it’s Michael Jackson. I know more than half the people in this room have been molested in their lives. But it wasn’t no goddamn Michael Jackson, was it? This kid got his dick sucked by the King of Pop. All we get is awkward Thanksgivings for the rest of our lives.”

Dave Chappelle: Sticks & Stones is now streaming on Netflix. Leaving Neverland is available to stream on HBO.

Watch Dave Chappelle: Sticks & Stones on Netflix