Anthony Jeselnik Discusses Louis C.K.’s Comeback: “It’s Funny to Watch This Guy Eat All This Sh*t”

Certain comics may be coming to Louis C.K.‘s defense after he admitted to sexually harassing women, but Anthony Jeselnik isn’t one of them. In a new episode of The Daily Beast’s The Last Laugh podcast, Jeselnik insists that he “certainly [doesn’t] feel bad” for C.K., as “he did this” to himself. Jeselnik went on to say that he’s “surprised” by “the tack that he has taken with his comeback,” particularly C.K.’s jokes about the Parkland shooting survivors. “I think it’s funny to watch this guy who was the comedy god for 10 years have to eat all this shit,” said the Good Talk host.

When asked about Louis C.K.’s attempted comeback, Jeselnik didn’t mince words. “People keep asking the question, should he be allowed to perform? And I think that’s the wrong question,” the comic told The Last Laugh host Matt Wilstein. “This is show business and it’s not fair, just or even remotely reasonable. The question is, should you buy a ticket? And that’s up to the audience member.” He added that platforms like Netflix may not be “completely against” releasing a C.K. special, particularly if it’s “a platform to come and apologize.”

“I don’t know if I would watch it, but I’ve read every single article about it. I’m just fascinated,” continued Jeselnik. “It’s like watching somebody fall down.” The Comedy Central host insisted that he doesn’t really have “a take” on the Louis C.K. situation, but added, “I certainly don’t feel bad for him. I don’t think anything happened to him. I think that he did this. And if he can fight his way back, I’m interested in watching someone drag themselves through barbed wire.”

Jeselnik went on to say that he’s “shocked” that C.K. “didn’t wait a full year” before launching his comeback, but he was surprised by the content of his more recent sets. “Of course he’s allowed to joke about what he wants to joke about. I’d never be like, you can’t joke about Parkland,” Jeselnik said, referencing a leaked stand-up set in which C.K. mocks the high school-aged survivors. “I’d think he would have a better take on it. I’m a little surprised, to be honest, about where he’s decided to go with this and the tack that he’s taken with his comeback.”

“Who knows what the final result is going to be?” asked Jeselnik. “But I think it’s funny to watch this guy who was the comedy god for 10 years have to eat all this shit. It’s just funny to me.”

Listen to Anthony Jeselnik’s entire interview on The Last Laugh here.