‘Bachelor in Paradise’ Fans React to Derek’s Shocking Departure: He “Deserved to Find Love”

Bachelor in Paradise takes off for no man (or holiday). On Monday night, the ABC reality show delivered two hours of straight drama as John Paul Jones and Derek Peth continued their war of words. After Tayshia Adams finally told Derek that she’s just not that into him, the Bachelor favorite decided to leave Paradise for good. Derek’s dramatic Bachelor in Paradise departure sent fans into a tailspin, and Twitter immediately filled up with messages insisting that “he deserves better.” As one fan put it, “Derek deserved to find love after everything he’s been through.”

After weeks of tension, John Paul and Derek’s feud came to a head on the beach. As they screamed at each other — “You just spit on my face, John!” said Derek — Tayshia walked away, telling the girls, “They are gentlemen. They don’t need to be doing that.” She then told the cameras that “JPJ and Derek were acting like middle school children,” and it has effectively turned her off both men. “I’m like, done, and I’m over it. After all this, I might be ready to move on,” said Tayshia.

Later, Tayshia finally sat down with both men and bared her soul. “I think it’s important to tell you that I just don’t know if I can get there,” she told Derek. Tayshia insisted that her decision had nothing to do with John Paul, which… didn’t help. Ultimately, Derek decided to leave Paradise. “I’m actually going to head out now,” he told the group. “I love so many of you in so many ways.”

Derek’s emotional departure came as a surprise to many Bachelor in Paradise fans, who have cheered on the fan-favorite contestant since he first appeared on JoJo Fletcher’s season of The Bachelorette. “Derek is the respectful king we need! He deserves better,” tweeted one fan. “You won’t be single for long,” added another. “I mean… swoon. SWOON,” wrote writer Damin Holbrook alongside a photo of Derek.

Derek was also quick to chime in, saying, “Please be kind to Tayshia. She spoke her truth to me and I can never ask more than that from anyone.”

Watch Monday night’s episode of Bachelor in Paradise on Hulu. Bachelor in Paradise airs every Monday and Tuesday at 8/7c on ABC.

Watch Bachelor in Paradise Season 6 Episode 9 on Hulu