Andrew Yang Offers Sitdown With ‘SNL’ Castmember Shane Gillis Over Racist Comments

Democratic presidential candidate Andrew Yang has offered up his stance on Saturday Night Live‘s latest castmember, Shane Gillis, and his use of racial and homophobic slurs in his comedy material.

On Saturday morning, Yang retweeted Gillis’ post from earlier in the week in which the comedian said, “My intention is never to hurt anyone but I am trying to be the best comedian I can be and sometimes that requires risks.”

As part of Yang’s retweet, the politician offered to have a sitdown conversation with Gillis. “I prefer comedy that makes people think and doesn’t take cheap shots,” Yang wrote. “But I’m happy to sit down and talk with you if you’d like.”

Later in the day, Yang clarified his initial comments on Twitter, “For the record, I do not think he should lose his job. We would benefit from being more forgiving rather than punitive. We are all human.”

But that wasn’t his last remark. Later in the night, Yang reiterated that he was victim to stereotypical and racist remarks his whole life, which made him feel “like you are somehow not part of the only country you have ever known.”

“I have certainly felt that – the churning sense of alienation, anger and marginalization,” he added.
“It’s also the case that anti-Asian racism is particularly virulent because it’s somehow considered more acceptable. If Shane had used the n-word the treatment would likely be immediate and clear,” he tweeted.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, Yang explained how he doesn’t think Gillis is trying to be “malignant or evil” after listening to and absorbing some of his comedy. “He strikes me as a still-forming comedian from central Pennsylvania who made some terrible and insensitive jokes and comments.”

“I think we have, as a society, become excessively punitive and vindictive concerning people’s statements and expressions we disagree with or find offensive,” he added. “I don’t think people should be losing jobs unless it’s truly beyond the pale and egregious. I understand those who have another point of view on this. Obviously, the folks at NBC are the real decision-makers.”

“But if I can forgive Shane, as the guy he called a slur, I hope others can as well,” he concluded. “I also hope Shane is open to learning. We are all human, we’re all fallible.”

NBC has yet to comment on the Gillis controversy.

Michael is a music and television junkie keen on most things that are not a complete and total bore. You can follow him on Twitter@Tweetskoor

WHERE TO STREAM SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE