Kim Kardashian Celebrated the O.J. Simpson Verdict at His House: “I Didn’t Even Think It Was a Big Deal”

Kim Kardashian West is ready to open up about the O.J. Simpson murder trial and its aftermath. On Sunday’s episode of E! True Hollywood Story, the reality star divulged new details about the trial, which “divided” her family like never before, as her father, Robert Kardashian Sr., was representing Simpson, while her mother Kris was best friends with victim Nicole Brown. Despite the conflict, Kardashian remained close with her father, and she said she even celebrated at Simpson’s home after he was found not guilty. “I didn’t even think it was a big deal,” recalled the E! star. “It’s just, like, crazy to me to even think that was normal life.”

Towards the beginning of the hourlong THS episode, Kardashian reflected on the 1995 trial, which upended her life for almost a year (she was 14 at the time). “My family was always super close — except for the time when my dad was representing O.J. And my mom was Nicole’s best friend,” said the Keeping Up with the Kardashians star. “One day my dad took me and Kourtney into the trial, and then my mom happened to be sitting with Nicole’s family. And we looked over, and my mom’s like looking at us. Like, ‘What are you guys doing here? And why are you sitting on that side?’ That was the first time that my family really got divided.”

Kardashian and her siblings continue to spend time with both of their parents (Robert and Kris divorced in 1991), but she said that it was impossible to ignore the tension brewing within their family, as well as in the community. “During the trial, we all went to dinner with my dad, and we come back from dinner and on the side of his car, it says, ‘N-word Lover,'” she said. “My dad was so upset that his kids had to witness his car get destroyed.”

Almost 10 months after the trial began, a jury found Simpson not guilty of killing Brown, his ex-wife, and Ron Goldman. “All the kids stayed home from school and we saw the verdict,” Kardashian said on THS. “And then afterwards my dad called us and was like, ‘Okay, meet me at uncle O.J.’s house. We’re all gonna go there and celebrate.” Looking back, the reality star finds it difficult to believe that she was so close to the historic case. “Now if I tell people, like, ‘Oh yeah, I was at uncle O.J.’s house right after the verdict.’ And I didn’t even think it was a big deal,” she said. “It’s just, like, crazy to me to even think that was normal life.”

Watch Kim Kardashian’s episode of E! True Hollywood Story on YouTube. The rebooted series airs every Sunday at 10/9c on E!.