‘Bachelorette’ Star Mike Johnson Asks Out Keke Palmer on National TV and It’s Horribly Uncomfortable

Whoever told The Bachelorette star Mike Johnson to shoot his shot gave him some bad advice. On Monday morning, the fan-favorite contestant stopped by ABC’s Strahan, Sara & Keke, where he was asked about his short-lived relationship (if you can even call it that) with Demi Lovato. Johnson admitted that his biggest “mistake” was “dating in public,” so naturally, he immediately… asked out host Keke Palmer on national television. Palmer was understandably horrified, and she desperately begged her co-hosts to ask another question. “Ladies, I’m at work,” said the actress turned TV personality.

When asked about his brief romance with Lovato, the Bachelor in Paradise star admitted that he may have taken things too far with the media. “I made a mistake. I don’t like dating in public,” Johnson told Palmer. That makes total sense. What happened next does not.

“But if I were to ask you if we could go on a date in public –” he continued, sending the audience into a screaming fit. Palmer, for her part, looked scared shitless. “What’s the next question?” asked the daytime host, her eyes wide. “Michael, you’ve got the next question.”

Palmer’s co-hosts Michael Strahan and Sara Haines went with it, which only made matters worse. “What? I didn’t hear nothing,” said Strahan. “He lost me when he asked you out for a date. What do you say, yes or no?” Johnson then tried again, saying, “I heard she’s super adventurous.” Strahan and Haines agreed that Palmer is “super adventurous,” but the Hustlers star shook her head and insisted that she’s not.

“Mike, I’m going to tell you something,” said Strahan. “Demi’s my girl. I love this one here, too. Now, you mess up, I’m coming for you. You don’t want that. I ain’t gonna lie to you. My girls.” But, continued the ex-NFL star, “Y’all look real good together sitting there. I ain’t gonna lie to you.”

Finally, Palmer stepped in to shut them down. “Ladies, I’m at work. I’m at work, guys,” she said. Unfortunately, it didn’t work. “So is he!” yelled Haines. “Okay. At the commercial break you’ll get her number,” said Strahan, putting a cap on the uncomfortable segment.

Watch The Bachelorette‘s Mike Johnson ask out Keke Palmer in the worst way possible in the clip above.

Where to stream Strahan, Sara & Keke