‘Queer Eye’s Jonathan Van Ness Recalls the “Gallons of Sh*t” Incident that Inspired Him to Promote PooPourri

Queer Eye star Jonathan Van Ness has embarked on a new quest to… end “poo shame.” On Tuesday, the Fab Five member became the newest face of toilet spray PooPourri, which has released a new campaign encouraging people to “let that sh*t go.” In a behind-the-scenes clip, Van Ness revealed that the cause is near and dear to his heart, as he once had “a full diarrhea B.M.” in his car. Van Ness went into incredibly graphic detail about the incident (which apparently created “gallons of shit”), but he explained that the situation would have been better with PooPourri on hand. “I didn’t even have time to spray the PooPourri on my car seat before I shit my pants in the car,” he explained.

In a behind-the-scenes video about the ad campaign, Van Ness explained that he partnered with PooPourri because he loves “de-stigmatizing things that have shame attached to them,” like going to the bathroom. “I’ve dealt with poo shame myself, so anything that embraces dealing with poo shame I just think is great,” he said. The Queer Eye star then launched into his own poop story, saying, “It was Sepulveda and Pico [in Los Angeles], and I was in a Kia Rio, at a red light, with nowhere to run.”

“It wasn’t a ‘shart’ or a ‘chancer,’ as my step-dad would have said,” he continued, explaining that “a chancer is when you need to fart and so you take a chance but you’re not sure.” Instead, it “was a 27-year-old having a full diarrhea B.M. that was brought on by a hot, seafood spinach salad with a kombucha and frozen yogurt.” At the red light, “gallons of shit” came out. “Just gallons and gallons,” said Van Ness. “I didn’t even have time to spray the PooPourri on my car seat before I shit my pants in the car.” Gross. Gross. Gross.

Van Ness’ message seems heartfelt, but we probably could have gone without knowing the full story behind his PooPourri collab. Just saying.

Watch Jonathan Van Ness talk about shitting his pants in the car (if you dare) in the clip above. You can check out PooPourri’s new campaign on YouTube.

Watch Queer Eye on Netflix