Kelly Clarkson’s “Dreams Come True” When She Performs “True Colors” with Cyndi Lauper

Kelly Clarkson is rapidly becoming the best daytime host on television. This week, The Kelly Clarkson Show host skipped her upbeat “Kellyoke” and instead performed a slow, stripped-down version of “True Colors” with Cyndi Lauper. With the help of Lauper’s dulcimer (and The Conners star Sara Gilbert, who pretty much just sat there and listened), Clarkson and the legendary singer put a new spin on the song, the title track on Lauper’s 1986 album. “My life’s made!” said the daytime host after their duet. “That was like a dream come true for me.”

On Thursday, The Kelly Clarkson Show released a video of Clarkson’s “True Colors” duet with Lauper, which is set to air on Friday’s broadcast. With the dulcimer strapped on her lap, Lauper kicked things off with a slow first verse, and Clarkson quickly picked up the harmony. When they got to the chorus, the drumbeat and the fast tempo of the original song were gone; instead, the women opted for a slower, intimate pace. The daytime host grabbed the next verse, while Lauper continued to pluck away on her dulcimer, and Gilbert looked on silently. They couldn’t have found her a tambourine or something?

After the performance, Clarkson praised Lauper for agreeing to the performance. “Gosh, my life’s made!” said Clarkson. “Dude, I’m telling you. I’m not kidding. That was like a dream come true for me. Thank you.”

In addition to their duet, Lauper and Clarkson also sat down for an interview on Friday’s episode. “You are the raddest looking human ever,” said Clarkson in a preview clip. “I just don’t want to feel like I look in the mirror and I look conservative and straight,” replied the (currently) blue-headed singer. “Sometimes I pass Brooks Brothers and I think to myself, ‘Well, that ain’t bad.’ And I’m like, ‘What do you mean? That’s bad!'”

Watch Kelly Clarkson and Cyndi Lauper perform a stripped-down “True Colors” in the clip above. The performance will air today on The Kelly Clarkson Show; to find the exact time and station in your area, head to the show’s website.