Eddie Murphy Regrets the Homophobic Jokes in ‘Delirious’: “I Can’t Believe I Said That”

Now that Eddie Murphy‘s comeback tour is in full force, it’s time for the actor and comedian to reckon with his past. This weekend, Murphy sat down with CBS Sunday Morning‘s Tracy Smith, and he took a few minutes to reflect on the homophobic jokes featured in his stand-up sets in the 1980s. While the comedian acknowledged that he “still appreciates” his early comedy specials, he also finds certain jokes “cringey” and problematic. “Some of it, I cringe when I watch it,” said Murphy. “Like, ‘Oh my God, I can’t believe I said that.'”

In the 1980s, Murphy made waves with comedy specials like Delirious (1983), which included a bit about how he’s “afraid of gay people.” Smith noted that Murphy’s jokes would “make the internet explode” today, adding, “When you watch that stuff, do you laugh? Is it still funny to you?” The actor admitted that while he enjoys “some of it,” not all of his material holds up under the bright lights of 2019.

“Some of it, I cringe when I watch it,” said Murphy. “Like, ‘Oh my God, I can’t believe I said that.”

When Smith asked if it “bothered” him that “people were picketing” his shows because of the problematic jokes, Murphy insisted that he didn’t mind at the time. “No. In the moment, you kind of was like, it’s just — it is what it is, you know?” he said. “Does it bother you now?” asked Smith.

“I’ve seen stuff that I’ve gone, ooh,” replied Murphy, making a face. “Yeah, you get a joke every now and then that’s cringey. But that’s not to say that I don’t appreciate it. I still appreciate it. And I’m looking at it within the context of the times, you know. Going, ‘Okay, I’m a kid saying that.'”

Watch Eddie Murphy’s entire interview with CBS Sunday Morning in the clip above.

Where to stream Delirious