Queue And A

Kate Chastain Has TWO Exciting New Post-‘Below Deck’ Projects (And They’re Launching This Week!)

It’s going to take more than a quarantine to slow down Kate Chastain — in fact, the former Below Deck chief stew is busier than ever as she prepares to launch two new projects this week. Decider checked in with Kate who is quarantined in Florida to hear what she’s been up to, what she’s been wearing, and, very importantly, how her dog Halo is doing.

You’ll be able to see Halo (and even Kate’s mom!) for yourself beginning tonight when Kate pops up in Below Deck Sailing Yacht: Watch With Kate at 8pm ET/PT on Bravo, where she offers up her unique, witty, and hilarious comments and fun facts about the events of the current Below Deck series, as well as her own funny anecdotes from the world of yachting. We discussed the puzzles, silk pajamas, and “new relationship” keeping her busy in quarantine, but if that’s not enough for you, you can hear even more of Kate beginning tomorrow when she launches a new show on SiriusXM’s Radio Andy.

Decider: Your mom Cha Cha is already an instant reality star.

Kate Chastain: I agree. I already knew she was funny, and after I took a video to make fun of her and send to my siblings because that’s a great hobby of mine, I watched it back and I’ve never said this before in my life after six seasons of being in reality TV, I’ve never said to anyone, “I don’t like being on screen with you because you are too adorable and too funny.” But when I looked at me and my mom on my phone I was like, “Mom! I don’t even like being in the same video as you, you’re just too adorable! You’re a scene-stealer!”

I’m loving the quarantine look, are those fancy PJs?

Oh actually, back to Cha Cha, it’s always hard to find presents for your mother. There’s been a lot of Christmases, Mother’s Days and birthdays. So I got her silk pajamas, they were on sale from Neiman Marcus and she loved them and she said, “Oh Kate, when I put them on it was better than being naked.” I was like, okay you’re exaggerating. And she came to visit in New York and was like, I brought the pajamas! She let me put the shirt on and I was like, oh my god these are better than being naked! So I got myself a pair.

What are some of your initial thoughts on Below Deck Sailing Yacht so far, what parts of the show are you loving?

Honestly, from the premiere episode to every time I watch it, when the sails go up, I’m still in awe. It’s just so magnificent. It’s gorgeous. It’s really simply beautiful.

I think we can all relate to the Paget and Ciara and Georgia situation. Like, what do you do when you’re that girl and you’ve got a friend that’s hot and you can’t be mad at her because she’s hot but you can tell your boyfriend’s checking her out? My heart is like, this is awkward. But Ciara and Paget have been sailing for a while, they’re young, so I think this is one of the first hurdles in their relationship that they’ve really faced.

What do you think about the Adam and Jenna romance? 

At first I thought it was just a boatmance. Close quarters can make you have feelings for people that you wouldn’t necessarily have. I have been in isolation for…I’ve lost count, and the guy that was just setting up my power at my vacation rental, I just really felt like we had a connection. And I’m not just talking about my power, which is also connected, btw.

I thought Adam and Jenna were a cabin fever situation but as I’m watching it and seeing how much they have in common, I think it could last. I think those kids are gonna make it! I think actually they might be more than just a boatmance.

A lot of these crew members have taken turns playing the guitar, what do you think about having that on the boat: is it cool or annoying?

This is why I’ve never worked on sailboats, that’s what I say. Sail yachts are a little more casual than motor yachts, everyone knows it and it’s just different. I don’t trust anyone that walks on board with a yoga mat, a ukulele or a guitar because we’ve got limited space and limited free time so I don’t know where you’re going to put your guitar and when you’re going to play it. I don’t trust anyone with a ukulele in general because it’s like, there’s no wrong way to play a ukulele, you just need attention. If you want to play an instrument then get a real one. Which reminds me, my mom has a harp, another thing you can’t play wrong by the way.

What do you think about Captain Glenn?

I like his style. I think he’s a happy medium between Captain Lee and Captain Sandy. I think he has a style all his own and I like it. Captains are like musicians, you can appreciate them all for their different styles.

Is there anyone else that stands out what you would want to work with? 

Yes, I would totally work with Madison, which is shocking because when I met her I thought she was like Rocky, but she seems to be working pretty hard.

How has your quarantine been going so far? 

Quarantines going great, I’ve got my relationship with the power guy. There were sparks!

And there’s the three-thousand-piece puzzle, here’s what happened. I got all of the edges done quickly, shockingly quickly, but then I had to move the puzzle to the vacation rental. So I carefully put all the edges in a box, my mom even separated the organized piles into muffin tins but… I don’t know. I’m saving it, you know, for a special treat.

How is your doggie Halo doing? 

Actually, Halo’s not happy, I’m so glad you asked. Because I’m home all the time, I thought he hated me for the last week but then I realized he’s used to me leaving the house at some point. So he’s been socially distancing from me but I don’t think it’s a bad thing, it’s just we’re learning to live together, coexist.

Tell me about your new SiriusXM show you’re launching this week!

Well, the great news is that since I’ve been self-isolating for three weeks, four days and 22 hours, I have a lot of thoughts and I’m excited to share them with anyone that will listen. [You can tune in to Radio Andy on Tuesday morning at 9am ET to hear Kate’s show.]

Below Deck Sailing Yacht: Watch With Kate premieres tonight at 8pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream Below Deck Sailing Yacht