‘Riverdale’: Casey Cott Breaks Down “Wicked Little Town”s Biggest Moments

Where to Stream:

Riverdale

Powered by Reelgood

Though fans of The CW’s Riverdale are sure to be talking about certain events towards the end of this week’s episode — a certain pairing, and a certain video tape in particular — the main event of this year’s musical episode was the emotional arc of one Kevin Keller (Casey Cott). After escaping an organ stealing cult last season, Kevin has been slowly working his way back to normal, trying to regain the trust of his friends and family. That all exploded during this week’s Hedwig and the Angry Inch inspired episode, “Chapter Seventy-Four: Wicked Little Town.”

In the episode, Riverdale High principal Mr. Honey (Kerr Smith) threatens to shut down the school’s variety show after Kevin vows to perform a number from cult classic Hedwig. By episode’s end, and spoilers past this point, the whole school has dressed in drag as Hedwig, including Kevin, and a triumphant performance by Kevin and The Archies has brought the whole town — Honey included — together.

“I do think this is him moving on from that and, publicly declaring that that’s not who I am anymore,” Cott told Decider about the episode.

For plenty more with Cott, from behind the scenes on the amazing “Wig In The Box” number, to that Kevin and Archie (KJ Apa) kiss, to — okay, fine — his take on Betty (Lili Reinhart) and Archie finally getting together, and the fallout… Read on.

Decider: By the end of the episode, Kevin’s on stage playing with The Archies, everybody’s cheering for him… Going forward, is he finally past that Farm pain, that thing that’s been holding him back? Or is that something he’s always going to be holding onto inside?

Casey Cott: Yeah, I think this was the end of that. I do think this is him moving on from that and, publicly declaring that that’s not who I am anymore. I’ve said I’m sorry, I’ve done what I needed to do, and now I’m moving on and I think this is kind of a public declaration of that.

Riverdale -- "Chapter Seventy-Four: Wicked Little Town" -- Image Number: RVD417b_0112rc -- Pictured (L - R): Lili Reinhart as Betty Cooper, KJ Apa as Archie Andrews, Cole Sprouse as Jughead Jones, Camila Mendes as Veronica Lodge and Casey Cott as Kevin Keller -- Photo: Katie Yu/The CW -- © 2020 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Photo: Katie Yu/The CW

“Wig in a Box” seems like it was both a blast to shoot, and probably insanely complicated at the same time.

That was probably the most challenging one due to the amount of people in it, and then the different set locations, and then the different hair and makeup looks. I had like three or four looks throughout that song… We shot it over a couple different days so it was pretty technical; but also really fun. And then the pillow fight scene was just a blast. That was all fun at that point, and we only had a couple takes to do it because you can’t reset the set after that. But that was really, really fun and insane.

This is a stupidly technical question but I couldn’t stop thinking about it while I was watching the number: I assume the feathers are separate from the pillows, and you aren’t actually bursting pillows all over the place, right?

The feathers were in the pillows and then we ripped them all up… We did it once, and the second time we got new pillows full of feathers while the other feathers were already there, so then there were just so many feathers, it was out of control. It was really out of control.

In “Tear Me Down,” there’s that quick shot where Kevin kisses Archie that I’m sure fans are going to flip out about. But at the same time, it seems so very sweet, and fun and just… Joyous. What was it like to film that kiss?

So that was an unscripted moment. There’s a really cool part in Hedwig, the musical, where Hedwig goes out in the audience and picks an audience member and just plants one on them. So when I was shooting “Tear Me Down,” halfway through it I thought, “I need to plant one on KJ.” So the first time I did it I laid one on his cheek and there’s just like, lipstick all over his face. The second time I went in, I went in for it and he turned his face and we just totally locked lips and it was perfect. It was one of those moments where everyone in the room knew that that will be in the final cut… It was a perfect moment for that song, and it was a perfect unification of Hedwig and Riverdale. KJ’s such a fun actor to work with because he’s so energetic and giving, and also always game for whatever’s gonna make the shot the best shot possible. So, that was really fun. And I hope the fans freak out.

You can really feel the authenticity, the earnestness that’s going on, and not just in that scene, but throughout the entire episode. When I was talking to Roberto and Tessa they mentioned that everybody’s favorite episode is the musical to do. Does that come through on set, is that something that you’re feeling as well? Or is it just, “Oh god, I gotta learn all this music?”

Yeah, for me it does. I love it. I mean, you know, I love working so it sounds so cliche to say but I really enjoy being on set and I like the musical because I usually get a good portion of stuff to do, and I do think everyone enjoys it. I mean, every once in a while you get pretty exhausted, but it is really fun.

Abrupt change of topic here, but can you clarify what’s going on with Kevin and Fangs? Because they were kind of cult married, now they’re hanging out together… Are they dating, are they friends, do we not know at this point?

We don’t know at this point, but I would say its somewhere in between dating and friends.

Okay, fair enough.

That’s all I can tell you… I honestly, I do not know. But that’s what I’ve decided as an actor is happening.

Kevin has always been a big Betty and Archie ‘shipper, so what do you think his reaction is going to be with them getting together for real? And what was your reaction to the show moving forward with the Betty and Archie relationship?

In typical high school fashion, in typical life fashion, there’s all kinds of feelings when something’s coming to an end, like high school. People are gonna be confused and figuring out their romantic relationships, and anyone that’s freaking out about Betty and Archie getting together… Just hold on, because I’m sure the tide will turn in your favor at some point. But I would say, they are two such classic characters and I just think it’ll be fun to see what that will be like.

Obviously, a lot is in flux with the rest of the season with the world being what it is, but what can you tease for Kevin going forward?

It’s gonna get a little murky for Kevin. The tickling storyline is going to come back up, so they’re going to have to confront that situation. And then after that, we’re heading towards the end of high school, so we’ll see what’s in store for Kevin there.

This interview has been edited for clarity and length.

Riverdale airs Wednesdays at 8/7c on The CW.

Where to watch Riverdale