Macaulay Culkin and Kathy Bates Will Have “Crazy, Erotic Sex” in ‘American Horror Story’

More details just emerged about the mysterious tenth season of American Horror Storyand it sounds like a steamy one. Macaulay Culkin, who will make his AHS debut on the upcoming season, was enticed to join by the shows’s creator, Ryan Murphy, when he shared some sordid details about Culkin’s character, E News reports.

Culkin was announced as a Season 10 cast member in February, along with AHS favorites Sarah Paulson, Billie Lourd and Evan Peters. And Murphy said it only took one detail to sell Culkin on the FX horror series: “crazy, erotic sex with Kathy Bates.”

“You know, it came about just because it’s how I always do things,” Murphy said. “I have always loved Macaulay Culkin’s work. I loved everything that he’s done, I love the stuff he did in Home Alone, I also loved the sort of the older, more recent stuff that he did. And he hasn’t worked in a while.”

Murphy pictured Culkin in “this very, very great insane part” for his Season 10 role, so he called him up to chat, he told E News.  “[When] I cast, I never let people read things, usually,” Murphy explained. “I said, ‘OK, here’s the pitch.’ And I told them the character and I told him he has crazy, erotic sex with Kathy Bates and does other things.” And by the way Murphy tells it, Culkin didn’t need to hear anything else about the role. “He paused and he goes, ‘This sounds like the role I was born to play.’ So, he signed up right then and there,” Murphy said.

In the meantime, Murphy is waiting for production shutdowns to end so he and his team can get to work on Season 10. “All those scripts are written and I’m excited for him to play that part,” Murphy said. “I’m excited for him to be in my world because I think…I’m gonna want to do a lot of things with him if he wants to work, because I think he’s fascinating and interesting, and I think he has a soul,” he added. “There’s both a lightness and a darkness with Macaulay Culkin that I’m attracted to.”

Aside from the cast, Murphy has revealed little about AHS Season 10. So far, we know Leslie Grossman, Adina Porter, Lily Rabe, Angelica Ross and Finn Wittrock will also appear in the upcoming season, and that the theme is related to the ocean somehow. Murphy posted a cryptic teaser to Instagram in March with the caption “Things are beginning to wash up on shore…”. While we’re all waiting patiently for Season 10 to premiere — which may be later than usual due to the coronavirus shutdown — FX has renewed Murphy’s series through Season 13.

Where to watch American Horror Story