‘Black Mirror’ Creator Says Season 6 is On Hold

For the creator of Black Mirror, society’s current reality is a little too close to the fantasy world he’s created. Charlie Brooker spoke to the UK’s Radio Times about the future of his dystopian series and revealed that he’s paused working on Season 6 because he doesn’t think viewers could “stomach” it right now, according to Entertainment Weekly.

When Radio Times asked the Black Mirror creator about another season of his sci-fi hit, he demured, saying he hasn’t written anything for Season 6. “I’ve been busy doing things,” he said. “I don’t know what I can say about what I’m doing and not doing.”

Brooker explained that his dark fantasy series doesn’t feel to him like the right fit for audiences to watch right now. “At the moment, I don’t know what stomach there would be for stories about societies falling apart,” Brooker explained. “So I’m not working away on any of those [Black Mirror episodes].”

Fans will be happy to know that while Brooker hasn’t been dreaming up any new Black Mirror content, he has been keeping busy in other ways. “I’m sort of keen to revisit my comic skill set, so I’ve been writing scripts aimed at making myself laugh,” he told the outlet.

Before he crafted his technologically-focused dystopia, Brooker’s 2008 show Dead Set seemed to predict the Big Brother coronavirus scandal years before it happened, with a plot focused on a group trapped inside a Big Brother house during a zombie apocalypse instead of a deadly virus pandemic.

Black Mirror first premiered in 2011. Netflix most recently released Season 5 of the Emmy award-winning series last June, which included three new episodes featuring Anthony Mackie, Andrew Scott, Topher Grace and Miley Cyrus. The series released the first interactive special on Netflix with 2018’s Bandersnatch, which allowed viewers to create their own storyline based on the choices they selected for characters.

Stream Black Mirror on Netflix