Chrishell Stause Says Season 2 of ‘Selling Sunset’ Was Difficult to Film During Her Divorce

Selling Sunset comes back to Netflix for Season 2 this month, but one of the show’s stars admits she is “dreading” watching the upcoming episodes of her series. Chrishell Stause told ET Canada that the new season of the show was filmed during her divorce from This Is Us actor Justin Hartley, and revealed that she is sharing more of her personal life with viewers than ever before.

Stause told the outlet that Selling Sunset fans can expect to see a different side of her in the show’s second season. “The first eight episodes I came across a little unscathed and then the second half of season 2 is a little trickier for me,” she said.

The realtor and her ex separated in December 2019 after two years of marriage, and she admitted that filming was difficult for her after the divorce. “This is still new for me trying to adjust to such an uncomfortable thing but unfortunately yes, the cameras were there,” she said. “I still had a month left of shooting when my personal life kind of exploded.”

“It’s not a comfortable thing to live in front of everyone,” she continued. “If I’m being 100 per cent honest with you, it’s friggin’ awkward. They were there and some of it is going to be shown and I’m dreading that.”

While filming wasn’t easy for her, Stause said that she thinks fans will see a transition in her after Season 1. Stause stars alongside six other realtors on the show, and all work to sell homes to wealthy customers in Los Angeles. “I feel like, with Season 2, people are going to see me a little more sure of myself, a little more confident and being able to stand my ground when I need to, which I don’t feel I was confident enough in Season 1 to do because everything was being thrown at me and I was a little surprised by the things that happened,” she said.

Stause said she felt like a “fish out of water” while filming, but admitted that part of making successful reality TV is showing your authentic personality. “I feel like it’s not going to work if you’re not yourself and so, unfortunately, that means showing the good and the bad at times,” Stause explained.

The second season of Selling Sunset comes to Netflix on May 22. Watch the full trailer for Season 2 in the video above.

Stream Selling Sunset on Netflix