‘90 Day Fiancé’ Shows Stephanie Coming Out to Her Mom, Who Says She’s “Sad”

After keeping her sexuality a secret all season, Stephanie Matto finally opened up to her family about being bisexual on last night’s episode of 90 Day Fiancé, but she didn’t get a warm reception or embrace from her loved ones. Instead, after struggling to come out to her family, Matto was met with disappointment from her mom when she revealed the truth, according to Screen Rant.

Matto made history on the show as part of the first same-sex couple with her girlfriend, Erika — but her family had no idea she was dating a woman. The couple eventually split, but Matto still came out to her mom on last night’s episode. When Matto said she’d been in a romantic relationship with Erika, her mom rejected the idea, telling her she was “confused” after “toxic relationships” in her past, per TV Insider.

“This is not something new. This is not the first time I’ve had feelings for another woman. I am bisexual. This is me,” Matto replied. But, her news made her mom “sad,” she said, because her daughter could no longer meet her “prince charming.”  

The conversation ended with her mom telling Matto that she only wants her to be happy. “She’s not completely rejecting the idea, so I just need to continue to be honest with her and live my truth,” Matto said.

Previously, Matto explained how difficult it would be for her to come out on TV. “Being pressured to come out because of a show sucks,” she said, per The Blast. “And while I will say, the show’s producers really did try to make things easy on me, I knew my mom would see it eventually and that it was literally a ticking time bomb. I knew the response I would get from her, and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to capture that for national TV or to do it in private.”

Matto called her mom a “traditional eastern european woman who has always dreamt of you marrying some rich d**chebag,” and said she’d be “DAMNED if I come out to my mom via Skype with someone who I haven’t even built a solid foundation with.”

TLC came under fire from 90 Day Fiance fans in March when they accused the network of manipulating Matto’s coming out story, pointing to a video on her YouTube channel where she describes a “bicurious experience.” Matto had said on the show that she’s dated women before, but never came out to her family.

Where to watch 90 Day Fiancé