Hannah Ferrier Does Not Hold Back About Lara’s “Attitude Problem” on ‘Below Deck Mediterranean’

We’re one episode into Below Deck Mediterranean, and it has to be asked: Is Season 5 already a shit show (a ship show?) Now, this is coming off of a Season 4 that saw three different chefs take a crack at serving the guests — the first of which made the shittiest nachos to ever be shown on TV and that still wasn’t as offensive as her licking raw steaks.

So it’s no wonder Captain Sandy was all over Chef Kiko during the first charter’s very first lunch, making sure the guests were satisfied with the food. She even marched down to the galley to taste the shrimp for herself. Captain Sandy also told Decider about Kiko, “I liked him, his personality’s awesome. I just hope that his food matches his resume. It started with Adam with the onions and him not following preference sheets, to Mila, who licked the steaks. I hope the nachos don’t come back this season. I’ll say this: when they’ve got ‘surfer’ on their resume, not a good sign. It’s a lifestyle. I loved his attitude. He’s got a happy soul, he’s got a happy spirit. So I just hope that his food matches his happy.”

But one person who did get along with the chef is chief stew Hannah Ferrier. “I was close with Kiko on board, we got along really well,” she told us. “A very nice brother-sister relationship. And it was very nice, because I felt like, with the chef, it’s usually such a difficult relationship. So it was a big relief.”

Someone she didn’t get along with quite so well was her own second stew, Lara Flumiani, as the two clashed over what seemed to be a language barrier when it came to putting away provisions. “It definitely wasn’t a language barrier, because I deal with international crew all the time,” Hannah stated. “It was definitely an attitude problem. I think it was like day one or day two, she was like, ‘I’ve worked on over 40 boats, so I know what I’m doing!’ I’m like, that’s not a good thing. To work on 40 boats probably means you’re being fired a lot. That’s not something you brag about, honey! Retreat, retreat!”

When asked if this already raised a red flag so soon in the season, Hannah said, “I always used to give the benefit of the doubt with my stewardesses, until it’s like every single time, basically, when I had a red flag I was right about it. So it’s almost like, you know when you’re like dating the same guy over and over again? You’re like, I’m not going to give you the benefit of the doubt anymore, because I see the signals. This one seemed to follow me around the boat with a big red flag, [waving it around] the entire time. There was no ignoring that one.”

The two also butted heads when Hannah moved Lara to cleaning guest cabins instead of doing service as they got acclimated to their new environment. “I’m still trying to get used to the boat, and I’m trying to work out where everything is,” Hannah explained. “I can’t have you giving me attitude when we’re on service. I can’t have you on service when you’re like that. Just get in the cabin and make some beds or something. I can’t have that energy around me.”

However, while we didn’t get to see much of third stew Jessica More this episode, she gets Hannah’s seal of approval. “Jess is really sweet. She’s not the brightest bulb in the bunch, but she’s very endearing and she has a good attitude. I would much prefer a stewardess with a 70 percent capability with a great attitude than a stewardess that is like, the best stewardess in the world, that gives me grief and attitude. Because when you’re in that environment where you’ve got pressure from the captain, you’ve got pressure from crazy guests, you’re not sleeping, you’re missing home. When your stewardess is giving you attitude, it just makes your day dismal and you don’t want to work with them. You can be the best stewardess in the world, but if I ask you to do something and you roll your eyes, I’ll just pull you to cabins for laundry, because I don’t want to see you if you’re going to be like that. Whereas if you have the right attitude, I’ll use my spare time to train you, if you want to stay in yachting.”

And as far as new bosun Malia White and her team of deckhand dudes goes, well, things are about as good as expected…when they aren’t calling their boss “sweetie,” that is. “They are hard workers. Well… yeah, most of the time,” Malia told Decider. Anything else we should know about them? “They are three very different characters. One of them is not like the other. They’re kind of an odd bunch. But we really got along.” Ah, so yet again it appears the drama is coming from inside the boat.

Below Deck Mediterranean airs Monday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream Below Deck Mediterranean