Jimmy Kimmel Apologizes for “Embarrassing” and “Thoughtless” Blackface Sketches

Jimmy Kimmel has apologized for appearing in blackface multiple times in the past while impersonating Black celebrities like Karl Malone. The late night host released a statement today addressing his actions, and said he has “evolved and matured over the last twenty-plus years,” Deadline reports.

Footage of Kimmel in blackface resurfaced online last week, showing Kimmel  impersonating Malone, an NBA player, on Comedy Central‘s The Man Show. Kimmel cohosted the show, which was intended to satirize male behavior, with Adam Carolla from 1999-2003.

“I have long been reluctant to address this, as I knew doing so would be celebrated as a victory by those who equate apologies with weakness and cheer for leaders who use prejudice to divide us,” Kimmel stated. “That delay was a mistake. There is nothing more important to me than your respect, and I apologize to those who were genuinely hurt or offended by the makeup I wore or the words I spoke.”

Kimmel said he began his Malone impersonation on the radio for Los Angeles’ KROQ, and later continued it on TV. “We hired makeup artists to make me look as much like Karl Malone as possible,” he said. “I never considered that this might be seen as anything other than an imitation of a fellow human being, one that had no more to do with Karl’s skin color than it did his bulging muscles and bald head.”

The host recalled other impersonations he’s done in the past, including Snoop Dogg, Oprah, Eminem, Dick Vitale and Rosie. Each time, he said, “I thought of them as impersonations of celebrities and nothing more.”

“Looking back, many of these sketches are embarrassing, and it is frustrating that these thoughtless moments have become a weapon used by some to diminish my criticisms of social and other injustices,” Kimmel continued. “I believe that I have evolved and matured over the last twenty-plus years, and I hope that is evident to anyone who watches my show. I know that this will not be the last I hear of this and that it will be used again to try to quiet me.  I love this country too much to allow that. I won’t be bullied into silence by those who feign outrage to advance their oppressive and genuinely racist agendas.”

Kimmel was criticized for taking a summer vacation from hosting his show, ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Liveat the same time the blackface footage was spreading online. Kimmel addressed his vacation plans in his apology, insisting the timing was not intentional or related to The Man Show sketch.

“My summer vacation has been planned for more than a year and includes the next two summers off as well,” he said. “I will be back to work in September. Thank you for giving me an opportunity to explain and to those I’ve disappointed, I am sorry.”

His apology comes after Kimmel’s NBC competitor, Jimmy Fallon, was criticized for a 2000 Saturday Night Live sketch where he played Chris Rock in blackface.

Fallon issued an apology on Twitter, writing, “In 2000, while on SNL, I made a terrible decision to do an impersonation of Chris Rock while in blackface. There is no excuse for this. I am very sorry for making this unquestionably offensive decision and thank all of you for holding me accountable.”

Where to watch Jimmy Kimmel Live