Kandi Burruss Talks Watching ‘The Chi’ Sex Scene with Her Husband Todd Tucker: “Awkward!”

Kandi Burruss is opening up about her steamy sex scene in the most recent episode of Showtime drama The Chi. In a new interview with HollywoodLife, Burruss revealed that she actually watched the scene with her husband Todd Tucker, as things were “tense” in their house leading up to the episode. “If you’re a couple and your significant other is grinding and kissing on somebody else,” said The Real Housewives of Atlanta star, “Awkward!”

The Chi Season 3, Episode 5, “Terror Town,” opens with a big-time sex scene between Roselyn (Burruss) and Douda (Curtiss Cook). As the two talk campaign strategy in his office, they begin to get it on, and before long, he’s going down on her as she discusses the importance of bringing in the vote. After they have rigorous sex on his desk, Roselyn tells him that “that’s how he needs to be campaigning” in Chicago — you know, normal sex stuff!

Burruss told HollywoodLife that her husband, Todd Tucker, was nervous about the graphic sex scene, so they “went ahead and watched it together” to get him out of his funk. “I wanted to get it over with because to be honest with you, it made things a little tense in the house,” said the actress and singer. “I think he feels a little bit better now that he’s seen it. I think he thought it was going to be much worse.”

While Burruss’ The Chi sex scene features partial nudity, she doesn’t think it’s that graphic compared to the drama’s other sexploits. “I think they took it a little light on me because I feel like some of the other sex scenes on the show have been extremely hot,” said the RHOA star. “They let me off easy a little bit just letting me keep my skirt hiked up!”

“They did mention that it could be partially nudity but they didn’t know I talked to my family about it. I talked to my husband about it,” she added. “Everybody was being supportive, but even though he’s supportive, he doesn’t necessarily want to see all of that. But at the end of the day, if I’m going to agree to do something, I’m going to be all in. Basically, that’s what it was.”

Catch Kandi Burruss’ The Chi sex scene on Showtime.

Where to stream The Chi