‘Stargirl’ Boss Geoff Johns Dishes That Grundy is Coming Back, More Details

Where to Stream:

Stargirl

Powered by Reelgood

Though the DC FanDome: Explore the Multiverse panel for the now CW exclusive DC’s Stargirl was heavier on fun than details about Season 2, EP Geoff Johns and the cast were able to tease a little about what to expect from the hit show’s Sophomore season. Specifically, the return of hulking villain Solomon Grundy.

“I’m excited for people to see more of Grundy, he’s not gone just yet,” Johns said after watching footage of the big Grundy/S.T.R.I.P.E. fight from the Season 1 finale. “Cameron [Gellman] knows what we’re going to do with Grundy, we have a cool story planned.”

At the end of Season 1, the new Justice Society of America — Stargirl (Brec Bassinger), Wildcat (Yvette Monreal), Dr. Mid-Nite (Angelika Washington) and Hourman (Gellman) — managed to stop the evil Injustice Society from brainwashing America. But in the process, discovered that things might not be as black and white as they seemed. Wildcat ended up murdering villain Brainwave (Christopher James Baker), something she’s clearly grappling with as the heroes sit in the aftermath. Dr. Mid-Nite’s goggles are broken, meaning she no longer has her faithful info-source. And Hourman held back from killing the animalistic Grundy at the last moment, realizing that his revenge for Grundy killing his parents wasn’t worth crossing a line.

In the comics, Grundy goes through changes constantly — from a Hulk-esque, monosyllabic rage monster, to a gentle soul who befriends Starman and his allies. It’s certainly possible that Grundy, who is now loose in the tunnels below Blue Valley, Nebraska, might have a similar arc; albeit with Hourman, instead of Starman (or Girl).

Less definite is the fate of Dr. Mid-Nite’s owl, Hootie (yes, really), who was last seen sitting alone in the JSA headquarters halfway through the season. Though Johns didn’t address who (who) is feeding the owl, he did tease that we will see the avian friend again.

“I love Hootie!” Johns said. “I love that Hootie is waiting for Dr. Mid-Nite all this time. We will definitely be talking about Hootie at some point.”

Among the other big cliffhangers addressed on the panel from the Season 1 finale (and there were a lot) was the fate of Shiv (Meg DeLacy). Stargirl’s arch-enemy had escaped the JSA/ISA battle after being knocked out and left unconscious, and was last seen in possession of one of the most powerful relics in the DC Universe: the Black Diamond, prison of an all-powerful being named Eclipso.

“Well, one of the important things at the end of Season 1 is when we introduce Eclipso,” Johns noted. “That’s very important.”

Bassinger, for her part, is excited to see Courtney and Cindy knock heads, one more time. “I would love besides the relationship stuff, because the teenage girl in me will always want that stuff, but also the rivalry with Shiv,” Bassinger said about what she would want to see in Season 2. “I just love their rivalry, I think it’s so interesting. I keep saying this but it reminds me of Kim Possible and Shego, it’s so catty, the dynamic, that I’d love to see more Stargirl and Shiv.”

“That’s definitely happening,” Johns said, jumping in.

That all said, as Johns noted on the panel, the writing staff is just breaking the story of Season 2 as of the taping (many DC FanDome panels were taped back in July, so chances are they’re much further in the process now). Meaning other details were all speculation, ranging from the status of the pink pen that contains the powerful genie the Thunderbolt (“I want to see some closure with this pink pen. Bring me Jakeem!” said Bassinger, name-dropping the kid who eventually controls the Thunderbolt), to Green Lantern, something that Monreal and Washington are both interested in seeing more from.

Gellman, though, had a far more fleshed out idea for his character. “I really want time with my dad, with Lou [Ferrigno] Jr.,” Gellman said. “I met him on set, and I think he’s such a wonderful guy, and I watched him film scenes with my younger me. But I think it would just be so cool if there was like a reckoning scene, even if it’s just in Rick’s head. Where he gets to deal with confronting his father, and his father seeing who he is now… I think that would be super cool, connecting with his roots, even if that’s a ghost.”

And as for Johns? He’s just happy the team is all back together for Season 2.

“You know what the best thing about this is I’m so excited we get to do Season 2 with everybody because we do get so many other things to explore with these characters,” Johns said, “and other avenues in the world to meet and introduce, we’ll do it the best way we can, and we’ll do it at our own pace. But we’ll definitely be playing with things like the pink pen in Season 2… I love you guys, it’s been the best experience of my life. I’m excited to spend more time with you.”

DC’s Stargirl will return to The CW in 2021, though no premiere date (or month) has been announced.

Where to watch Stargirl