Jane Fonda Reveals She Once Skinny Dipped with Michael Jackson

Jane Fonda has had many celebrity friends over the years, but in the 1980s, she was particularly close with pop star Michael Jackson. During an interview on Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen last night, Fonda revealed that she and Jackson once lived together while she was filming On Golden Pond, and they got up to all sorts of shenanigans. “I skinny dipped with him,” said the actress. “How about that? Put that in your pipe and smoke it.”

“You were good buddies with Michael Jackson for a good period of time, weren’t you?” asked Cohen on the WWHL After Show. “Oh, yeah, I was,” replied Fonda. “When I was making Coming Home — not Coming HomeOn Golden Pond up in New Hampshire, he came and lived with me for about a week, in the same home. He slept on a mattress that he pulled out on the floor of the living room. I slept on a loft upstairs.”

Fonda added that she found Jackson “very touching” and “a very interesting character,” and they immediately got along. “I knew him pretty well. I went to his house a lot. He came over to my house a lot,” she said.

“Did you know him in his later years?” asked Cohen. “Were you in touch with him in the later years of his life?”

“No, when I really knew him best was around the time that he made ‘Bad,'” she said. “It was before ‘Thriller.'” [‘Bad’ actually came out after ‘Thriller’, but thou dost not correct Jane Fonda].

Fonda then mentioned offhandedly that at some point during that time, the two skinny dipped together, but for reasons beyond my understanding, Cohen didn’t follow up. “Wow, that’s exciting,” said the Bravo host, before moving on to the next question. Come on, Andy, we need the backstory here!

Watch Jane Fonda’s WWHL After Show appearance above. The Michael Jackson discussion begins at the 0:50 mark.

Where to stream Watch What Happens Live