Jennie Garth Was “Horrified” When She Heard About Jessica Alba’s “Awful Experience” on ‘Beverly Hills, 90210’

Tori Spelling and Jennie Garth remember Jessica Alba‘s stint on Beverly Hills, 90210 a little differently than the actress. After Alba, who appeared on the show in 1998, made comments about not being allowed to make eye contact with her costars, Spelling and Garth are speaking up to deny the rumors, E News reports.

In a preview clip for their 9021OMG podcast, the two actresses recalled their time with Alba on the show, which they starred in from its 1990 premiere through the series finale in 2000. Garth asked her friend, “Tori, did you, I just need to know, did you tell her not to look me in the eye?” To which Spelling replied, “Why is it all about you?”

Garth, who played Kelley Taylor on Beverly Hills, 90210, admitted that she had the most scenes with Alba, but never enforced the “no eye contact” rule. “Like, if anybody was, you know, didn’t want to have their eyes looked into, it would have been me,” she said. “But, I don’t remember because I have the world’s worst memory.”

Spelling, who starred as Donna Martin on the teen soap, suggested that the rule could have come from a “memo that was, like, going around from the producers or the ADs and we didn’t even know.”

While the two never solved the mystery of where the eye contact rule came from, Garth only had kind words to say about Alba. “I only have, from the vague memories I have of working with her, I only remember her being super talented,” she said. “She was very young. She was really sweet, and it does not surprise me that she’s gone on to be so successful.”

In fact, Garth is still a fan of Alba to this day. She praised the actress and entrepreneur’s The Honest Company, professing her love for their products. “I’m not going to lie to you guys: I was a little horrified when I saw that clip that she said that she wasn’t allowed to make eye contact and she had an awful experience, because her baby wipes are my favorite,”Garth said.

The conversation between the two Beverly Hills, 90210 stars came after Alba made comments on an Oct. 1 episode of the YouTube series Hot Ones. “On the set of 90210, I couldn’t even make eye contact with any of the cast members, which was really strange when you’re, like, trying to do a scene with them,” Alba said. “Yeah, it was like, ‘You’re not allowed to make eye contact with any one of the cast members or you’ll be thrown off the set.'”

Where to watch Beverly Hills, 90210