Braunwyn Windham-Burke Talks Living Apart From Husband on ‘WWHL’

Braunwyn Windham-Burke’s life has been an open book on the new season of Bravo’s The Real Housewives of Orange County. On last night’s Watch What Happens Live, Windham-Burke directly addressed all of her issues with alcohol, as well as reports that she’s separated from husband Sean Burke. Also appearing on the show was author Glennon Doyle, and Windham-Burke credited Doyle’s book for helping her face some big issues in her life.

When a WWHL audience member named Jack asked her, “Recently you said that Sean was not living in your home and you’re both redefining what marriage is. Was this brought on by quarantine or had things been brewing under he surface prior, and has he moved out for good?” Windham-Burke credited the Doyle memoir, Untamed, for waking her up to her feelings.

“Honestly, a lot of it happened during quarantine and had to do with Glennon’s book,” she responded. “When I say that Glennon’s book changed my life, I don’t mean that flippantly. I mean, Reading her book made me realize a lot of things about myself that I hadn’t recognized before. So… currently Sean and I are not living in the same house. I love him dearly, we get along great, we’re getting along better than we ever have. But we are redefining our marriage right now, and you know, there are some things I am going through that I’m giving myself the time and the space to acknowledge, and Sean’s been very supportive in all of this.”

While it sounds like “redefining our marriage” is the new “conscious uncoupling,” it also seems like the Burkes don’t actually plan to divorce.

In a separate interview with Access Hollywood, Windham-Burke says that they “plan on staying happily married,” the RHOC star just needs some time to look into some new aspects of herself.

“I think getting sober has given me a lot of freedom, I can do all of the things,” she says. “You know, I’m also coming to terms with different parts of my sexuality that I never really gave myself the grace to consider. And, you know, right now I’m protective of this, I’m not really blasting this out everywhere, but there are definitely parts of me that I squelched with alcohol… There’s a lot more things about me that I never gave myself the ability to really look into.”

Where to watch The Real Housewives of Orange County