Netflix Debuts Trailer For WWII Animated Series ‘The Liberator’

Netflix has debuted the trailer for its forthcoming WWII animated series from Jeb Stuart that is slated to premiere this Veteran’s Day, November 11.

The Liberator, which is based on the book “The Liberator: One World War II Soldier’s 500-Day Odyssey” by Alex Kershaw, follows a young military captain as he returns to the battlefield following an encounter with enemy forces that nearly kills him.

As the trailer opens, Captain Felix Sparks (Bradley James) is heard penning a letter to a loved one.
“My dearest Mary, when I left you to come over here, I was scared of losing you, scared of not coming back, scared of dying,” Felix reads. “But I began this war with a group of men, men who I owed a debt to.”

Felix is soon after seen taking a shot to the chest, leaving him temporarily out of commission. The still badly-wounded Captain, however, goes against medical advice and returns to fight alongside his company in an effort not to abandon them.

“Mary, I don’t expect you to understand, but it isn’t’ my time to come home yet,” Felix adds. “I’m not scared anymore.”

The Liberator trailer shows snippets of animated recreations of WWII fights, such as those that occurred over the snowy German landscape to the historical storming of Normandy in 1944. Felix reflects on the generations of fighters involved in the war and the brotherhood he shares with his team of men as the music builds.

“My darling Mary, if ever for the rest of my life, I go silent or seem to leave you even when you’re right beside me, you’ll know where I am,” he says.

You can check out the full trailer above.

According to Deadline, The Liberator is executive produced by Stuart, Bob Shaye and Michael Lynn for Unique Features, and L.C. Crowley, Grzegorz Jonkajtys, Brandon Barr and Mark Apen for Triscope Studios. The series is directed by Jonkajtys and Kershaw co-produces.

Michael is a music and television junkie keen on most things that are not a complete and total bore. You can follow him on Twitter@Tweetskoor

Stream The Liberator on Netflix