Wendy Williams Eliminated from ‘The Masked Singer’ After Just One Performance as Lips

Wendy WilliamsThe Masked Singer reveal may have come as a surprise to fans, but it definitely wasn’t a shock to host Nick Cannon. In an interview with Us Weekly released after Williams was unmasked as the Lips on Wednesday night, the talk show host revealed that Cannon “knew right away” that she was under the costume, but he promised not to share their secret with anyone else. “When we sat down, he said, ‘I’m not going to say anything, but I know who you are,'” she recalled. “And he said he couldn’t believe I pulled this off!”

Williams’ time on The Masked Singer was short-lived, but she made the most of it. For her first (and only) performance as the Lips, the host performed “Native New Yorker” by Odyssey, but the talk-y nature of the song made it difficult to conceal her identity. At the end of the episode, Lips was eliminated, and with some help from two assistants, the top lip was removed to reveal Williams’ smiling face.

The outspoken TV host told Us Weekly that “it was so hard keeping a secret” because she was so excited to be stretching her wings — her family’s criticism be damned. “All my friends and family say to me, ‘Wendy, you can talk, but don’t sing!’ They tell me to stay in my lane,” she said. “After I’d sing a line, then I would laugh. I thought that gave it away. I was really filled with joy though.”

However, the secretive nature of The Masked Singer‘s production process did take a toll. “There were tears at night because this is something scary that I normally wouldn’t do and I couldn’t really talk to anyone,” said Williams. “My parents would call me, and I couldn’t pick up or anything. I think they thought I fled the country or something. It was all so emotional that it really hit me at night!”

Who will be unmasked next week on The Masked Singer? Tune in every Wednesday at 8/7c on Fox to find out.

Where to stream The Masked Singer