Jingle Binge

Kristen Stewart Is Ready for Holiday Romance in ‘Happiest Season’ Trailer

Kristen Stewart is falling hard over the holidays in her latest film, Happiest Season. After waiting to see the LGTBQ romance for two years, we finally got a glimpse at Stewart’s festive rom-com today, thanks to Hulu‘s first official Happiest Season trailer. The Christmas movie stars Stewart as Abby, one half of a couple who goes home with her girlfriend, Harper (Mackenzie Davis), for the holiday.

While Abby has been shopping for rings and dreaming of marriage with Harper — she even tells her friend John (Dan Levy), “She is my person and I really want everyone to know that” — her girlfriend has a secret of her own. Turns out, Harper hasn’t told her family she’s dating Abby, and she also hasn’t come out to them. Instead, she’s bringing Abby home to her family as her straight, orphan friend.

“So her parents believe their straight daughter brought home her lesbian friend for Christmas?” John asks Abby over the phone. “Not exactly,” she replies. “They also think that I’m straight.” John, who is incredulous, asks, “Have they ever met a lesbian?”

As Abby spends more time with Harper and her family, it becomes even harder for her to hide who she is and pretend she and Harper are just friends. “I’m scared that if I tell them who I really am I will lose them,” Harper tearfully tells Abby, who responds, “Do you know how painful it’s been to watch the person that I love hide me?” Harper says, “I am not hiding you, I am hiding me.”

Aside from Davis, Stewart and Levy, Happiest Season boasts a pretty packed cast, which includes Mary Steenburgen and Victor Garber as Tipper and Ted, Harper’s parents. You’ll also see Alison Brie, Aubrey Plaza, Jake McDorman, Ana Gasteyer, Michelle Buteau, Mary Holland, Sarayu Blue, and more.

The film comes from Veep‘s Clea DuVall, who wrote Happiest Season based on her own experiences. “I grew up watching and loving conventional movies like this,” she told Entertainment Weekly last month. “Seeing [marginalized] people loving each other in the middle of something that’s so standardized was really exhilarating and freeing. There’s a lack of confusion and generalization Clea brings [as a queer woman]. I want people to see that two girls in love is just so fun.”

Happiest Season premieres on Hulu Nov. 25. Watch the full trailer in the video above.