Ellen DeGeneres Thanks Fans for “Sticking By” Her Despite Toxic Workplace Allegations in PCAs Speech

As it turns out, the people don’t seem too bothered by the toxic workplace allegations plaguing Ellen DeGeneres. Last night, The Ellen DeGeneres Show host took home the Best Daytime Talk Show award at the E! People’s Choice Awards, and she dedicated the honor to her fans and her “amazing” staff, both of whom continued to support her as the scandal developed throughout the summer. “They show up every single day,” DeGeneres said of her behind-the-scenes crew. “They give 100% of themselves, 100% of the time.”

Given the headline-making controversy of DeGeneres’ recent scandal, in which current and former employees came forward with allegations about the culture of “racism, fear, and intimidation” on set, it’s no surprise that DeGeneres opted to address the elephant in the room during her PCAs acceptance speech. “Thank you, thank you, thank you from deep, deep down in my heart,” said the host, after beating out the likes of The ViewThe Kelly Clarkson ShowThe Wendy Williams Show, and Red Table Talk for the Best Daytime Talk Show award. “I am not only accepting this award for myself. I’m accepting it on behalf of my amazing crew, my amazing staff, who make this show possible.”

DeGeneres then attempted to do the math of 250 staffers producing 170 shows a year for 18 years, but stopped short, earning a round of laughs from the audience. “My point is, I love them all,” she continued. “I thank them for what they do every single day to help that show be the best that we try to make it every single day.”

The Ellen host also thanked her loyal fan base for supporting her during a particularly tumultuous time. “I know this award comes from the people. I say thank you to the people, for all of my fans for supporting me, for sticking by me,” she said. “I cannot tell you how grateful I am and what this means to me. It’s more than I can possibly tell you, especially right now.”

Will DeGeneres’ PCAs speech bring back some of the viewers she lost over the summer? It’s a tall order, but if there’s anyone who can turn the ship around, it’s Ellen DeGeneres and her legion of loyal fans.

Watch Ellen DeGeneres accept the People’s Choice Award for Best Daytime Talk Show above.