Demi Lovato Will Open Up About Her 2018 Overdose in New YouTube Series

Demi Lovato is opening up about her complicated past in a new docuseries, Demi Lovato: Dancing with the Devil. The show, which marks her second collaboration with YouTube Originals, will look back on the singer’s life in the past three years, including her 2018 near-fatal overdose, People reports.

The upcoming series will give Lovato’s fans “an honest look back at some of the most trying times in Lovato’s life as she unearths her prior traumas and discovers the importance of her physical, emotional, and mental health,” a press release for the docuseries shared. Using footage from her 2018 Tell Me You Love Me World Tour, the series will give viewers “unprecedented access to the superstar’s personal and musical journey” over the course of four episodes.

“It’s been two years since I came face-to-face with the darkest point in my life, and now I’m ready to share my story with the world,” Lovato said in a statement. “For the first time, you’ll be able to see my chronicle of struggle and ongoing healing from my point of view. I’m grateful that I was able to take this journey to face my past head-on and finally share it with the world.”

Lovato also shared the news on Instagram today, writing, “There has been so much that I’ve wanted to say, but knew I had to say it right … Thank you to my family, friends, and fans for staying by my side over the years as I learn and grow. I’m so excited to finally share this story with you that I’ve held on to for the last 2 years. #DemiDWTD coming soon!”

Demi Lovato: Dancing With the Devil comes not long after Lovato’s previous YouTube documentary, a 2017 film titled Demi Lovato: Simply Complicated, which currently boasts over 35 million views on YouTube. Dancing With the Devil comes from director Michael D. Ratner, who previously worked on Justin Bieber’s YouTube series, Justin Bieber: Seasons, and is produced by OBB Pictures and SB Projects.

The first two episodes of Demi Lovato: Dancing With the Devil will premiere on Lovato’s YouTube channel Tuesday, March 23, and will be available to stream for free. The following episodes will be released on a weekly basis on the next two Tuesdays, March 30 and April 6.