More From Decider

‘Rupaul’s Drag Race UK’: Get to Know the Queens of Season 2

You can never have too much Drag Race. And that’s a good thing, because 2021 is serving up the most Drag Race content ever with the premiere of two seasons of two different series both starring RuPaul in the same month! We just saw the Season 13 premiere of the flagship series RuPaul’s Drag Race, and now we’ve got the debut of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK Season 2.

RuPaul’s Drag Race UK Season 2 once again finds RuPaul and Michelle Visage jaunting across the pond for a spot of tea with Graham Norton and Alan Carr. And just like in Season 1, there’s a ferocious pack of queens ready to snatch the crown jewels. If you’re looking to get in on the action from the United States, you’ll be able to stream new episodes of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK Season 2 every Thursday starting at 2 p.m. ET on WOW Presents Plus.

Now that you know when you can watch the show, you need to know who you’re rooting for. There’s a lot of new names to get to know, and there are more contestants strutting into the UK Werk Room this time around (12 total, up from 10 in Season 1). Here’s your guide to the queens of Drag Race UK Season 2, with quotes from their official interviews with WOW Presents included just to help you get to know them better.

A'Whora

drag-race-uk-2-awhora
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: London (via Nottinghamshire)

A’Whora Instagram: @awhora

Who is A’Whora?: “I’m from Nottinghamshire originally. I now live and work in London, but I’m still Northern as Hell. I’m a fashion designer and A’Whora is my muse, best friend and alter ego. She is well known as a fashion queen, but I’m here to prove she’s so much more than that. She is different to anyone you will ever meet. She is striking, she has presence, and you will never see her in a High Street dress. I’m gagging at the thought!”

Asttina Mandella

drag-race-uk-2-asttina-mandella
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: London

Asttina Mandella Instagram: @asttinamandella

Who is Asttina Mandella?: “I am a strong physical, fit, masculine, feminine woman. I am Serena Williams and Naomi Campbell if they had a baby, plus Azealia Banks! I’m a body queen. I am blessed, gorgeous and stunning. I’m not a gown queen or sequin queen. I’m an everyday streetwear fashion queen. I like to wear hooded stuff and trainers. I don’t believe that you need big hair and expensive gowns. As long as my legs are out! Asttina is not a character or someone different, Asttina is me. We are the same people. She is my mutant form. She is my ultimate power.”

Bimini Bon Boulash

drag-race-uk-2-bimini
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: London (via Norfolk)

Bimini Bon Boulash Instagram: @biminibabes

Who is Bimini Bon Boulash?: “My drag style is ever changing. I like to be super feminine and incorporate many sources of inspiration. I would never fit my drag into one box! I like to mix the ridiculous with a bit of politics. I’ve got a lot of different acts. Some are burlesque, some are me being covered in oat milk, with a strong vegan message behind it. I’m mainly silly, which is what I love about drag. Expect the unexpected!”

Cherry Valentine

drag-race-uk-2-cherry-valentine
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: Darlington

Cherry Valentine Instagram: @thecherryvalentine

Who is Cherry Valentine?: “In the world of drag, just like a Cherry, I sit on top! Cherry Valentine is everything. She is glamour, she is a club kid, she’s dark, she’s gothic, she’s a dancer, she’s flippy. Look at me, I am a queen. I’m a high fashion queen. I look fierce, and my body is hourglass perfect — as there’s nowt worse than a saggy boob. I like to say my drag is insidious glamour — a beautiful lady possessed by the devil. I’m not always a drag queen, I’m a drag artiste, there’s a subtle difference.”

Ellie Diamond

drag-race-uk-2-ellie-diamond
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: Dundee

Ellie Diamond Instagram: @elliediamondofficial

Who is Ellie Diamond?: “I’m 6ft 4 out of heels, and in drag, I love to go even taller. I like the biggest wigs, heels, outfits, lashes, makeup and ass. I would describe my drag as a cartoon character that has come to life — this outfit is inspired by one of my favourite films, The Wizard of Oz. I love bold colour, patterns and ideas. I take inspiration from my favourite movies, cartoons, anime and put it altogether to create this beautiful 6ft 8 drag queen that you see before you. If you were to search online for a photo of a drag queen, then a picture of me would come up!”

Ginny Lemon

drag-race-uk-2-ginny-lemon
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: Worcestershire

Ginny Lemon Instagram: @ginnylemon69

Who is Ginny Lemon?: “I’m basically a drag troll. I’m the hairiest woman in show-business! I’m the only non-binary drag queen in the UK… with a sense of humour! I don’t do traditional drag; I am a character. My look is a 90’s daytime TV presenter. I wear my face which suits me. For me, it’s not about makeup. It’s all about the performance.”

Joe Black

drag-race-uk-2-joe-black
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: Brighton (Portsmouth)

Joe Black Instagram: @misterjoeblack

Who is Joe Black?: “I love silent movies and old 1920 and 30s films. I love it when more is more, and I adore the grotesquely glamourous. I love Norma Desmond from Sunset Boulevard and Marlene Dietrich.”

Lawrence Chaney

drag-race-uk-2-lawrence-chaney
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: Glasgow

Lawrence Chaney Instagram: @lawrencechaney

Who is Lawrence Chaney?: “I’m from Glasgow and every single stereotype that you are thinking right now about a Scottish person is, is true for me! I love Irn-Bru, and a caramel wafer. I’m almost the Austin Powers ‘fat bastard’ of drag! I think of my Scottishness as an asset. I am definitely very proud to be Scottish and Glaswegian.”

Sister Sister

drag-race-uk-2-sister-sister
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: Liverpool

Sister Sister Instagram: @officialsistersister

Who is Sister Sister?: “I grew up on good, solid, British comedy. I was watching French and Saunders and Victoria Wood since forever. Plus, I’ve always had an interest in fashion, I grew up watching Jem and the Holograms. I was always such a fan of the stupid obnoxious makeup. The 80s style is very garish, but they used big shades and I love that.”

Tayce

drag-race-uk-2-tayce
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: London (via Newport, Wales)

Tayce Instagram: @itstayce

Who is Tayce?: “I’m from the Welsh lands of Newport. Newport can be a bit grey, dingy and so I just love to bring a bit of colour to the world. Since I was born, I have been prancing around in little skirts and wigs. I’ve always been full of life and energy. I’ve always got a smile on my face and I have been wearing crazy looks from day dot.”

Tia Kofi

drag-race-uk-2-tia-kofi
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: London (via Essex and Nottingham)

Tia Kofi Instagram: @tiakofi

Who is Tia Kofi?: “My name, Tia Kofi is a very camp and very British — Tea or Coffee darling? It’s very me, and at the very least, it’s memorable! I’m a mashup of the drag styles. I love comedy, camp, old school, contemporary, and cultural references. As there aren’t a huge number of POC queens on the scene, I’ll often throw in something from my Nigerian heritage too. I’m also a geek. One day I might be a character from Dr. Who, and I love channelling a bit of Star Trek. My drag is a melting pot!”

Veronica Green

drag-race-uk-2-veronica-green
Photo: World of Wonder

Hometown: London (via Rochdale)

Veronica Green Instagram: @veronicaqween

Who is Veronica Green?: “When I was a little boy, my brother and I used to make our own comic books, and when our baby sister, Veronica, came along we were so jealous that we invented a supervillain in our comic books and called her Veronica Green! Unwittingly, my sister’s birth sparked off my drag persona! She’s going to be mortified at all of this — I stole her prom dress and everything.”

Stream RuPaul's Drag Race UK Season 2 on WOW Presents Plus