‘Southern Charm’s Ashley Jacobs Engaged to Boyfriend Mike Appel: “We Can’t Wait for What’s Ahead!”

Cue the wedding bells! Southern Charm‘s Ashley Jacobs is engaged to Mike Appel, People reports. The former Bravo reality star and her boyfriend have been dating since 2019 and got engaged on a recent trip to Park City, Utah. There, Appel, who is the owner of Related Garments clothing apparel and creative agency Nnovate, asked Jacobs to marry him while the two were out riding snowmobiles.

“After a year and half of dating, we can both agree that this adventure we’re on together is just getting started,” Jacobs told People. “We’re a great team and we can’t wait for what’s ahead! Buckle up!”

Jacobs began dating Appel not long after her 2018 breakup with her Southern Charm co-star Thomas Ravenel. The newly engaged couple first met in Jacobs’ hometown of Santa Barbara, California, where they attended the same rooftop party in the summer of 2019.

“I was taking a picture of the ocean sunset when Mike kindly interrupted and asked, ‘Would you like me to get a picture with you in it?'” Jacobs said. “We sparked up a conversation after that. Mike is from Los Angeles and he asked, ‘Do you ever come to L.A.?’ I thought to myself, ‘No,’ but responded with, ‘Not that often.’ I then reminded myself I previously dated someone who lived in South Carolina, so L.A. is nothing in terms of distance.”

She added, “Mike invited me to Los Angeles the following week. The rest is history!”

While Jacobs left Southern Charm in 2019, she made an unforgettable impression on the series with her Season 5 arrival. While starring on the show, Jacobs was still dating Ravenel and clashed with his ex and mother of his children, Kathryn Dennis. Although Jacobs and Ravenel split the same year she joined the cast, Jacobs remained on Southern Charm for one more season, stirring up more drama and even getting kicked out of cast member Patricia Altschul’s party.

Since her time on the show, she’s returned to her nursing career and left the reality TV world behind. In an interview with Decider published at the end of her last season, Jacobs maintained that her portrayal on the show wasn’t entirely accurate. “Nobody really got to see me in my safe environment or with my friends. I was always going into a place where I felt like I had to defend myself,” she explained. “I was always feeling like I was going to a place where I didn’t feel safe, I didn’t feel comfortable, I was ready for attack. And that’s not an accurate assessment of me. I’m actually really fun-loving, silly, I like to make people laugh, I have a lot of personality.”

We won’t be keeping up with her on Bravo anymore, but at least we can still see snippets of her life on Instagram, where Jacobs also shared her engagement photos.”My fiancé!! (Kinda has a nice ‘ring’ to it!),” she shared today.

Where to watch Southern Charm