Elliot Page Addresses Privilege in Oprah Interview: “Absolutely The Right Thing to Do”

In a new episode of The Oprah Conversation, actor Elliot Page sat down with Oprah Winfrey to talk about why the actor decided now was the time to come forward as transgender, and cited his privilege in both having an established show-business career, as well as having, “trans women of color who have consistently put their lives on the line throughout history” before he came out as a trans man earlier this year.
Page told Oprah that living in isolation in Nova Scotia during the pandemic in 2020, “allowed me separating from that world, so to speak, for a moment to really get to sit with myself and certain aspects that I had never given myself the opportunity to do.” Something he’d subconsciously avoided confronting for years.
Page revealed that during the press tour and premieres for Inception a decade earlier in 2010, he snapped when his manager, “really believed she was helping me” by encouraging Page to wear more feminine dresses and heels. After that night’s Paris premiere and after-party, the actor collapsed from anxiety, he recalled.
So why be so public now?

“The privilege I have. The ability to be here, sitting here right now is really because of so many trans women of color who have consistently put their lives on the line throughout history. When we think of Marsha P. Johnson (from the Stonewall riot) or Miss Major (Griffin-Gracey), I’m grateful to have the access to the resources I’ve had. Because I don’t know what would’ve happened if I didn’t,” Page told Oprah. “And so many people in this community, like I said, don’t have access to health care already. And then you have now states — them trying to ban gender-affirming health-care for transgender youth. And I guess I don’t really know how to say it other than it just feels more important than feeling scared in moments. It feels more important than if I have an overwhelming day. It, to me, really simply feels like absolutely the right thing to do.”
Especially, Page said, when politicians and others are sharing “utter lies” about trans people, which only further intimidates and scares trans youth into seeking medical care, and instead steers them closer to suicidal ideation or situations in which they’re the victims of hate crimes.

On a lighter note, Oprah wondered if Page’s transition felt like Max in The L Word, where his outsides now match his insides?

Page said it’s really the little things that bring him joy. Such as “getting out of the shower and the towel’s around your waist and you’re looking at yourself in the mirror, and you’re just like, there I am. And I’m not having the moment where I’m panicked. I’m not having all these little moments that used to be…just being in a T-shirt.” Motioning about his torso, Page continues: “It’s…being able to touch my chest and … feel comfortable in my body for the, probably the first time. Tears of joy.”

Page said it took a while becoming comfortable alone, and then with close friends, before posting his public letter to the world via Twitter on Dec. 1, 2020.

“For me, it is in this time we’re in right now, and especially with this, you know, horrible backlash we’re seeing towards trans people particularly trans youth. It really felt imperative to do so,” Page told Oprah.

“And the experience I had closeted so long, you know, I came out as gay right before my 27th birthday. Up until then, I’d pretty much never even touched someone outside who I was in love with. And so I think any kind of sensation of feeling that again — there was just no way I could do it. And it felt important and selfish for myself and my own well-being in my mental health. And also with this platform I have, the privilege that I have, and knowing the pain and the difficulties and the struggles I’ve faced in my life. Let alone what so many other people are facing, it absolutely just felt crucial and important for me to share that.”

Watch The Oprah Conversation on Apple TV+