Mama June Tells Andy Cohen She Spent $1 Million on Drugs

Reality star Mama June Shannon opened up about recovery from drug addiction in an interview on Andy Cohen’s For Real, telling the host she spent $600,000 on cocaine in six months. In her first interview since leaving rehab, the former Toddlers & Tiaras and Here Comes Honey Boo Boo star shared just how bad her drug habit became.

“It’s kind of crazy, like, when you actually think about the dollar amount. In a year, we probably spent over a million. I mean, because our habit was $3,500 to $4,000 a day,” she said, per Yahoo Entertainment. When she was using, Mama June was dating her longtime boyfriend Geno Doak.

The two are still together, even though her family reportedly blamed Doak for her addiction. “I believe that during our addiction, both of us what I call our crazy state of mind and sometimes you got to love people through their addiction,” Mama June said. “He loved me through my addiction, and I’ve loved him through his addiction.”

She added, “Addiction is real, guys. I’m a real person, I have real issues and that’s what I share with people … I say that I’m a recovering addict. I know I had a problem but it’s hard for me to say I’m still an addict because I’m not doing those things anymore.”

While struggling with her drug dependency, Mama June sold her home in Georgia, plus her jewelry and her possessions. She told Cohen she’s now seven months clean, and plans on keeping her reality TV career alive and thriving. “If I can make it through the crazy rollercoasters in life being in front the camera, anyone can do it in this crazy thing called life,” she said.

Mama June is the latest celebrity to join Cohen on his show, a seven-part series that premiered on E! in March. Since then, he’s hosted stars like Kris Jenner of Keeping Up With the Kardashians; plus cast members from The Real World, 90 Day Fiancé, Rock of Love and more; and of course, women from his Real Housewives franchise.

For Real airs Thursdays at 9/8c on E!

Where to watch For Real: The Story of Reality TV