Eboni K. Williams Calls Out Ramona Singer for Using Term “The Help” on ‘RHONY’

Eboni K. Williams called out Ramona Singer on last night’s episode of The Real Housewives of New York City, confronting her co-star about her use of a “triggering” term. Williams, the show’s first Black cast member, sparked a conversation with Singer about her use of the term “the help,” when referring to one of her employees, Yahoo Entertainment reports.

“The ‘help’ comment was a little triggering for me,” Williams told Singer. “My grandma worked her whole life as a domestic. So you know why ‘the help’ is not, like, the best way to refer to somebody.”

Singer replied that she used to term when talking about her hospitality director because “I hire people to help me, so to me she helps me.” While Williams understood that Singer was using a “literal interpretation,” she added, “I think historically in our country, ‘the help’ can make people feel maybe devalued.”

The conversation proved to be a teaching moment for Singer, who said afterwards, “I love the fact that Eboni, in a non-condescending way, is explaining to me the reason why that word isn’t cool.” She added, “I get it. I’m not stupid, but sometimes I have a slip of the tongue.”

After the episode aired, Williams opened up about the moment in an interview with Page Six. “I pretty much know I got through to Ramona only because — now, she might not admit this, maybe she would, though I’m not sure — because later throughout the scene, you see her using people’s names,” Williams said. “And it’s great. It’s great! It’s amazing. Just stay tuned. It’s awesome.”

She added, “But really, it’s just anybody just respecting anybody’s humanity enough to refer to them by their name, the correct name, and understand that they are not just there in existence to serve you, but they are occupying in their own humanity and need to be respected as such.”

Since her RHONY debut, Williams has been shaking up the show, wearing a Black Lives Matter mask and Central Park Five sweatshirt in her first scene. Her official Bravo bio reads, “Using her privilege as a weapon, Eboni knows her presence is power in the rooms where she has often been the first and only Black person.”

The Real Housewives of New York City airs Tuesdays at 9/8c on Bravo.

Where to watch Real Housewives of New York City