‘The View’: Meghan McCain Rips “Sanctimonious Tool” Chris Cuomo for Handling of Andrew Cuomo Accusations

Meghan McCain is accusing CNN anchor Chris Cuomo of “hypocritical” behavior after reports emerged that the journalist participated in calls with Gov. Andrew Cuomo‘s aides about how to handle sexual misconduct allegations against his brother. On this morning’s episode of The View, the conservative co-host ripped Chris for his on-air apology last night in which he told viewers he can’t be objective about his family.

“We’re all working in media and politics and have to talk about people that we love,” McCain began. “If my dad had been accused of sexual assault, I would be talking about it on The View because I’m not a snowflake and I’m not Chris Cuomo, and I too love my family and love my dad, but there’s no crying in baseball.”

McCain added, “This is the job we signed up for,” suggesting if Chris “can’t hack it,” the he “should do something else.” While CNN deemed Chris’s strategy sessions with his brother “inappropriate,” Chris will continue to host his news show. A CNN spokesperson said Chris “will not participate in such conversations going forward,” per CNN Business.

Dubbing Andrew Cuomo “a macabre ghoul,” McCain complained he’s “keeping his job forever” despite the allegations against him. Multiple women came forward with sexual harassment allegations against the New York Governor earlier this year, and the state attorney general’s office is currently carrying out an investigation into the numerous claims.

“CNN can’t have it both ways,” she said. “You can’t spend hours and hours a day criticizing Fox and Fox News contributors’ and hosts’ relationship with the Trump White House and at the same time give him [Chris] a very, very slight slap on the wrist.”

She continued, “I think Chris Cuomo is a sanctimonious tool, and the fact that he’s acting like he’s just too precious to talk about his brother — I too have family in politics, it’s tough, I would talk about them on air and I have when it’s hard.” McCain ended her take with a call for Chris to “grow up.”

After her co-host Joy Behar pushed back about Fox News, telling McCain that Sean Hannity acted as a adviser to Donald Trump without “being chastised” for his actions, McCain insisted Fox was “aboveboard” about the relationship, unlike Chris.

If her brother was facing similar accusations, McCain said she would be “woman enough to talk about it on the show, because that’s what I’m paid to do.” She added, “If my brother was accused of sexual assault or killing old people, I’d talk about it on TV.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC. Watch the full segment on Chris and Andrew Cuomo in the video above.

Where to watch The View