Simu Liu Slams ‘Kim’s Convenience’ Producers: “We Were Paid an Absolute Horsepoop Rate”

Kim’s Convenience star Simu Liu took to Facebook today to address speculation surrounding Season 5 of the Canadian series. The series, which just released its final season on Netflix, was canceled by producers after its two showrunners (Ins Choi and Kevin White) dropped out. The show was set for a sixth season, but reversed its renewal and decided to end with Season 5. At the time, Liu hinted at “reasons that I’m sure we’ll get into some day” surrounding the cancellation — and that day is today.

Liu penned a lengthy Facebook post about the cancellation, discussing tense relationships on set, failed on-screen representation within Asian characters, and why the show must end for good. But first, he discussed a planned spin-off series, and his disappointment about how it went down.

“I love and am proud of Nicole [Power], and I want the show to succeed for her,” Liu wrote, “but I remain resentful of all of the circumstances that led to the one non-Asian character getting her own show. And not that they would ever ask, but I will adamantly refuse to reprise my role in any capacity.”

Liu went on to explain that the show cannot be “saved” for a sixth season: since it isn’t owned by CBC or Netflix, the producers make the final call. Ultimately, they were the ones who chose not to continue with new episodes, per Liu. Liu also opened up about rumors surrounding his role in the series, which sprouted after he landed the lead in Marvel’s Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings.

“I’ve heard a lot of speculation surrounding myself – specifically, about how getting a Marvel role meant I was suddenly too “Hollywood” for Canadian TV,” Liu said. “This could not be further from the truth. I love this show and everything it stood for. I saw firsthand how profoundly it impacted families and brought people together.”

This all being said, Liu did have a handful of complaints about his role in the show. He ascribed the problems to the “overwhelmingly white” producers who counteracted the Asian Canadian cast who had “a plethora of lived experiences to draw from and offer to writers.”

“I WAS, however, growing increasingly frustrated with the way my character was being portrayed and, somewhat related, was also increasingly frustrated with the way I was being treated,” Liu noted. “I can appreciate that the show is still a hit and is enjoyed by many people… but I remain fixated on the missed opportunities to show Asian characters with real depth and the ability to grow and evolve.”

Liu went on to slam the writers’ room, which he says lacked female and East Asian representation. Aside from Choi, there were no Korean voices, and Choi left prior to the end of the show.

“And personally I do not think [Choi] did enough to be a champion for those voices (including ours),” Liu wrote. “When he left (without so much as a goodbye note to the cast), he left no protege, no padawan learner, no Korean talent that could have replaced him. I tried so hard to be that person; I sent him spec scripts I was working on, early cuts of short films I had produced… I voiced my interest in shadowing a director or writer’s room… my prior experience had taught me that if I just put myself out there enough, people would be naturally inclined to help. And boy was I wrong here.”

The actor continued, saying that he and other stars who were “trained screenwriters” tried to pepper in their own ideas. But “the doors were never opened” to any of them. Speaking of the cast, Liu also mentioned that they “didn’t always get along,” noting that their ideas all differed from each other.

“Speaking for myself personally, I often felt like the odd man out or a problem child,” Liu said. “This one is hard because I recognize that a lot of it reflected my own insecurities at the time, but it was buoyed by things that happened in real life; nomination snubs, decreasing screen time, and losing out on opportunities that were given to other cast members.”

Liu also got candid about the pay on Kim’s Convenience, which was lower than one might expect. He noted that acting on the show “really opened my eyes to the relationship between those with power and those without,” as when the cast started, they were no-name actors with little leverage to assist them into higher salaries.

“For how successful the show actually became, we were paid an absolute horsepoop rate,” Liu said of the pay. “Compared to shows like Schitt’s Creek, who had ‘brand-name talent’ with American agents, but whose ratings were not as high as ours, we were making NOTHING. Basically we were locked in for the foreseeable future at a super-low rate… an absolute DREAM if you are a producer.”

Liu concluded with an addendum that celebrated the show’s day-to-day crew, saying he “couldn’t ask for a better group of people or a better working environment.” Before offering to answer questions in the comments, he bid farewell on a hopeful note.

“I still believe in what the show once stood for,” Liu concluded, “a shining example of what can happen when the gates come down and minorities are given a chance to shine.”

Where to Watch Kim's Convenience