‘Below Deck Med’ Premiere Exclusive: Is Chef Mathew Already Quitting?

It wouldn’t be Below Deck Mediterranean without chef drama! In this clip from the Season 6 premiere, which airs on Bravo this Monday, June 28th at 9pm ET/PT and is also currently available to stream on Peacock, we see there’s some big chef drama before the boat has even left the dock for the first time.

As everyone is snoring in their bunks and getting in some good sleep ahead of the first charter, Chef Mathew Shea is tossing and turning and ultimately gets up and starts flipping through his binders of recipes.

“I didn’t sleep,” he states in his interview. “Full of nerves, thinking menus, thinking wedding, thinking everything. I’m not prepped at all.” We also see him hobbling down the stairs as he said, “Oh, my knee is fucked.” He does some pacing around the galley before he finally calls Captain Sandy to come meet him, a mere four hours before the guests will be arriving.

“I hurt my knee last night,” he tells her. “I don’t feel like I can do this properly.” She stays perfectly calm before asking him, “Even with our help?”

“It’s not gonna be the same with that. And the fact that I didn’t sleep and trying to figure out the kitchen on the first day with that handicap?” he shakes his head just thinking about it. “Freaking out. I don’t know what to do, I can’t do this,” he tells her as she’s clearly panicking on the inside. “I can’t do this with this,” he says, looking at his knee, and repeats, “I’m freaked out.”

You’re not the only one, buddy! This could throw the whole crew and charter into a tailspin — and it does. Watch now to see what happens when Mathew leaves the boat to have his MRI and how the rest of the crew reacts.

Below Deck Mediterranean premieres Monday, June 28 at 9pm ET/PT. All new episodes will be available on Peacock one week early, starting June 21.

Stream Below Deck Mediterranean on Peacock