Meghan McCain Calls for FBI Involvement in Britney Spears’ Conservatorship on ‘The View’

Meghan McCain gave an impassioned case for FBI involvement in the Britney Spears conservatorship on this morning’s episode of The View, comparing the pop star’s current situation to “human trafficking” and accusing the state of California of allowing “open slavery to happen.” During a discussion about Spears’ testimony during yesterday’s (June 23) conservatorship hearing, McCain said she was “absolutely sick to my stomach” hearing about Spears’ experiences.

In a lengthy testimony delivered to a Los Angeles judge, Spears said she had been “traumatized” by the conservatorship she’s been under for the past 13 years, revealing she’d been made to work against her will, had been forced to take lithium and was prohibited from removing an IUD even though she wanted to have more children.

McCain was adamant that Spears’ case “is a definition of human trafficking,” telling her co-hosts, “She is ostensibly being kept as a slave and working as a slave for her family and these conservators.” McCain expressed deep concern for Spears’ safety, questioning, “If these are people who will do this to this woman for 13 years, what can they do right now retaliating?”

She continued, “I actually believe this has reached the level that the FBI needs to be involved and extradite her from her home away from these people at this very moment, because these are people that could continue the abuse in realtime, I think it’s that extreme.”

The conservative co-host also brought up Spears’ much-discussed Instagram account, which she said she’s followed for years now. “It’s very strange,” McCain said. “She never seemed like someone who was, in my opinion, telling the truth or in control of herself. I am sadly not surprised by this, but it’s much more extreme than I ever could have possibly imagined.”

During yesterday’s hearing, Spears said she “lied and told the whole world ‘I’m OK and I’m happy,'” per Variety. She added, “I thought I just maybe if I said that enough maybe I might become happy, because I’ve been in denial. I’ve been in shock. I am traumatized. You know, fake it till you make it. But now I’m telling you the truth, okay? I’m not happy. I can’t sleep. I’m so angry it’s insane. And I’m depressed. I cry every day.”

McCain continued her comments during a conversation with Framing Britney Spears filmmaker Liz Day, who appeared on The View to give insight into Spears’ conservatorship case. McCain told Day, “I’m really furious,” going on to accuse Spears’ family of being “clear slave owners” who “are allowed to go unchecked” by the state of California. “I don’t believe she’s safe,” McCain continued. “These are people who could do God knows what to her, and honestly, thank God this woman hasn’t killed herself.”

Spears’ statement marks the first time the star as publicly addressed the extent of her conservatorship in full. Since 2008, her father James Spears has assumed control over her finances, estate and everyday decisions. Now, Spears is petitioning to end the “abusive” conservatorship without an evaluation. “I shouldn’t be in a conservatorship if I can work. The laws need to change,” she said yesterday. “I truly believe this conservatorship is abusive. I don’t feel like I can live a full life.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC. Read Spears’ full conservatorship statement at Variety, and watch the full discussion from morning’s show in the video above.

Where to watch The View